LinuxMCE Forums

General => Users => Topic started by: m3freak on January 29, 2012, 09:51:59 pm

Title: How much HD space do I need for Core + MDs?
Post by: m3freak on January 29, 2012, 09:51:59 pm
I picked up an Intel 40GB SSD to use as the boot drive for my 10.04 Core.  At the moment I'm using an old 80GB IDE drive.  I want to make the drive swap because my testing of the Core is complete and since I'm mostly pleased with the results, I think it's time to move the OS bits to a better HD.

Before I rip open the box and install the SSD, I want to be sure the 40GB SSD is big enough.  My plans:

1. I'm going to have a separate md RAID 5 set (going to use an existing one from a Fedora 15 box) for media storage
2. Core + 2 MDs to start
3. Will add five more MDs down the road, maybe more

Can 40 GB accommodate that or should I get a bigger SSD?
Title: Re: How much HD space do I need for Core + MDs?
Post by: JoakimL on January 29, 2012, 10:36:04 pm
A clean Core install allocate 5-7 GB, but grows over time.
My Core + 1 MD takes 20 GB after running 6 months (no media files), so your 40 GBs is OK for you short term plans, but too small for the long term goals.


/Joakim
Title: Re: How much HD space do I need for Core + MDs?
Post by: m3freak on January 30, 2012, 12:50:54 am
A clean Core install allocate 5-7 GB, but grows over time.
My Core + 1 MD takes 20 GB after running 6 months (no media files), so your 40 GBs is OK for you short term plans, but too small for the long term goals.

Thanks for your experience.

I have to say 20GB for the CORE and 1 MD is pretty extreme.  You sure you haven't included some extraneous files in that total?
Title: Re: How much HD space do I need for Core + MDs?
Post by: m3freak on January 30, 2012, 03:55:26 am
BTW, clearing your apt cache will help get back some space.

So, does anyone else have any thoughts on this?  Is the 40GB drive too small for what I'm planning?
Title: Re: How much HD space do I need for Core + MDs?
Post by: posde on January 30, 2012, 04:26:00 pm
A question gets asked. A detailed answer provided. Answer doesn't fit. Ask again. Interesting.
Title: Re: How much HD space do I need for Core + MDs?
Post by: toppot on January 30, 2012, 04:51:41 pm
A question gets asked. A detailed answer provided. Answer doesn't fit. Ask again. Interesting.

Ha Ha - good one.

I'd have to say I believe that 40Gb should suffice, granted you can live with purging caches and running out of space frequently... ::)

-Tony
Title: Re: How much HD space do I need for Core + MDs?
Post by: m3freak on January 30, 2012, 05:59:14 pm
A question gets asked. A detailed answer provided. Answer doesn't fit. Ask again. Interesting.

Look, dude, I got one reply from a very helpful user for which I'm thankful.  But, it's just one reply.  Don't you think it's fucking reasonable for me to ask for more people's thoughts on this?  How the FUCK am I supposed to know if what joakimL said is actually fact?  Oh, I know!  Ask more people if they experienced the SAME FUCKING THING!  And, did I say the answer didn't fit? NO!  You did because you fucking ASSUMED that's what I was thinking.  THANKS!!!

I'm not a LinuxMCE expert.  I don't use Ubuntu - I'm a RHEL / CentOS / Fedora guy.  LinuxMCE is is all new to me.  Frankly, getting my damned hardware working (i.e. HDMI audio) has been THE SINGLE FUCKING BIGGEST WASTE OF MY TIME ever.  FUCK!

LinuxMCE is plug and play?  My ass it is!!  I finally pieced together information from all over the Internet, including the uber helpful XBMC forums and wiki, and got my Jetway minitop working with HDMI sound.  I was happy.  I was elated.  I managed to watch a couple of movies, and ignoring the fact LinxMCE's media interface is BUTT FUCKING UGLY, it worked.  I was looking forward to submitting a wiki article explained exactly how to get a Jetway minitop with an ION chipset working under LinuxMCE 10.04.   I was looking forward to making my LinuxMCE install permanent and finally moving on to the ZWave integration. That is, until you posted your bullshit here.  Your single post is the reason why LMCE is floundering while XBMC is jumping by leaps and bounds every day.  Yes, they serve different purposes, but man, talk about handling community relationships completely differently.

Your reply was completely useless and offensive.  Why did you even bother posting in here?  If you didn't like me asking for more people's input, you should have stayed out of the thread.

You've helped me the best that you could in the past, and for that I'm grateful.  But, your stupid, useless reply in this thread was not appreciated.  Keep that crap to yourself, and don't fucking piss off other users of this software.  LinuxMCE needs more users, not less.

Yes, I'm pissed.
Title: Re: How much HD space do I need for Core + MDs?
Post by: m3freak on January 30, 2012, 06:01:26 pm
Ha Ha - good one.

I'd have to say I believe that 40Gb should suffice, granted you can live with purging caches and running out of space frequently... ::)

-Tony

Your reply was useless, too.  Mocking inexperienced users has got to be the single best way to destroy the LinuxMCE community.  Keep it up and watch the damned project crash and burn because its users are all going to flock to XBMC, if they haven't already started to, if this type of shit keeps up.
Title: Re: How much HD space do I need for Core + MDs?
Post by: _if_ on January 30, 2012, 06:18:08 pm
I just had a look, I'm using about 20GB for my system as well...that install (10.04) is about 2 months old now
Title: Re: How much HD space do I need for Core + MDs?
Post by: posde on January 30, 2012, 06:28:19 pm
Now I know how wars gets started. Someone reads a sarcastic remark, just after waking up on the wrong foot. And *boom* a war begins.
Title: Re: How much HD space do I need for Core + MDs?
Post by: m3freak on January 30, 2012, 07:34:13 pm
I just had a look, I'm using about 20GB for my system as well...that install (10.04) is about 2 months old now

Thanks, man.  I really appreciate it.

Two replies with the same info, so that seals it for me.  I'm going to exchange the 40 GG SSD for a 80 GB SSD.  I hope it's good enough for a couple of years.
Title: Re: How much HD space do I need for Core + MDs?
Post by: Techstyle on January 30, 2012, 08:35:58 pm
Before you get a 80gb SSD you may want to add a different question:

Is SSD the correct technology for a Core?

I say this because I am sure I read somewhere that it may not be well suited to this application but I can't remember the conversation
Title: Re: How much HD space do I need for Core + MDs?
Post by: purps on January 30, 2012, 08:50:32 pm
Before you get a 80gb SSD you may want to add a different question:

Is SSD the correct technology for a Core?

I say this because I am sure I read somewhere that it may not be well suited to this application but I can't remember the conversation

Whilst the write times were very good, the read times were rubbish, or something like that? EDIT: Other way round I think.

Cost is a factor too - a "normal" hard drive is so much cheaper, I've certainly never had a problem with them. I considered SSD for my carPC, but even then I decided to just go with a 2.5" laptop drive. The only reason I can see for getting an SSD is that you can shave a few seconds off the boot time, which isn't good value for money in my opinion.

FYI My core/hybrid + 3 MDs is 29 GB. I haven't finished adding all my rooms yet, so I definitely wouldn't go less than 80 GB.

Cheers,
Matt.
Title: Re: How much HD space do I need for Core + MDs?
Post by: Techstyle on January 30, 2012, 09:38:48 pm
I was thinking more with regard to finite write capabilities, but I may be wrong:

http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php/topic,11591.0.html (http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php/topic,11591.0.html)
Title: Re: How much HD space do I need for Core + MDs?
Post by: m3freak on January 30, 2012, 09:40:52 pm
Before you get a 80gb SSD you may want to add a different question:

Is SSD the correct technology for a Core?

I say this because I am sure I read somewhere that it may not be well suited to this application but I can't remember the conversation

Ah crap.  I just noticed the kernel in 10.04 is 2.6.32-35.  There's no TRIM support in that version. TRIM hit mainline Linux in 2.6.33.  I guess I'll be using the SSD in my desktop!!!  

Thanks for posting. I meant to check this BEFORE getting the SSD, but I completely forgot.
Title: Re: How much HD space do I need for Core + MDs?
Post by: m3freak on January 30, 2012, 09:54:59 pm
Whilst the write times were very good, the read times were rubbish, or something like that? EDIT: Other way round I think.

SSD's destroy mechanical HDs in writing and reading.  Even in a LinuxMCE situation, I expect SSDs to trounce mechanical drives.

You have to be careful about which brand you go for.  For example, Intel drives are considered to be the most reliable, though not the fastest.

Cost is a factor too - a "normal" hard drive is so much cheaper, I've certainly never had a problem with them. I considered SSD for my carPC, but even then I decided to just go with a 2.5" laptop drive. The only reason I can see for getting an SSD is that you can shave a few seconds off the boot time, which isn't good value for money in my opinion.

Regular drives are still expensive.  Prices are down from what they were after the flooding in Thailand, but they're still not as low as they were before the disasters.  I'm not sure if I should just bite the bullet or wait a bit more.  I was going to purchase three 3TB HDs, then the prices went through the roof.  I'm still waiting for pricing to come down to $120 or lower.

FYI My core/hybrid + 3 MDs is 29 GB. I haven't finished adding all my rooms yet, so I definitely wouldn't go less than 80 GB.

Awesome, thanks dude.  80GB min for sure.  120GB for peace of mind.   :)
Title: Re: How much HD space do I need for Core + MDs?
Post by: posde on January 31, 2012, 06:44:28 am
The latest SSDs no longer have a need for TRIM support. Google a bit, and you shall find out, that the firmware of the latest drives are good enough that TRIM is no longer an issue for SSDs.
Title: Re: How much HD space do I need for Core + MDs?
Post by: toppot on January 31, 2012, 09:57:09 am
Your reply was useless, too.  Mocking inexperienced users has got to be the single best way to destroy the LinuxMCE community.  Keep it up and watch the damned project crash and burn because its users are all going to flock to XBMC, if they haven't already started to, if this type of shit keeps up.

Peace dude... and calm  8)

There's caring mocking and evil mocking - sometimes in writing telling the difference is impossible...
btw: users get attracted or is put off by a number of reasons, the tone on the main board is in my opinion actually quite important to keep people on board - we should be nice and polite - but at the same time there should be "rummelighed" (a danish word not easily translateable to any language, googles best shot is spaciousness - but it all about sentiment), thus leaving room for all kinds of behaviour/people:

1. Those that has poor language skills like myself.
2. Those taht spel por
2. Those that can't count.
3. Those that ask silly questions.
4. Those that gives silly answers.
5. Those that use sarcasm.
6. Those that are put off by sarcasm.
7. Those that needs to blow out steam.
8. Those that gives long boring answers to something that is water under the bridge, and do so in the shape of lists....

I hope you get my point - actually my own moral standard only allows me to mock those I believe to be strong/knowledgeable... Meaning it's a weird display of respect. But that's just me. There where, I am sure, no intent to put you down or annoy - just to also throw in a bit of relaxed comments. Posde does this from time to time :)

I hope you got the frustration out - and feel motivated to continue working with this "waste of time" and "butt f****** ugly" system  ;) I for one loves the challenge and the possibilities.

-Tony
Title: Re: How much HD space do I need for Core + MDs?
Post by: bongowongo on January 31, 2012, 10:05:52 am
Peace dude... and calm  8)

There's caring mocking and evil mocking - sometimes in writing telling the difference is impossible...
btw: users get attracted or is put off by a number of reasons, the tone on the main board is in my opinion actually quite important to keep people on board - we should be nice and polite - but at the same time there should be "rummelighed" (a danish word not easily translateable to any language, googles best shot is spaciousness - but it all about sentiment), thus leaving room for all kinds of behaviour/people:

1. Those that has poor language skills like myself.
2. Those taht spel por
2. Those that can't count.
3. Those that ask silly questions.
4. Those that gives silly answers.
5. Those that use sarcasm.
6. Those that are put off by sarcasm.
7. Those that needs to blow out steam.
8. Those that gives long boring answers to something that is water under the bridge, and do so in the shape of lists....

I hope you get my point - actually my own moral standard only allows me to mock those I believe to be strong/knowledgeable... Meaning it's a weird display of respect. But that's just me. There where, I am sure, no intent to put you down or annoy - just to also throw in a bit of relaxed comments. Posde does this from time to time :)

I hope you got the frustration out - and feel motivated to continue working with this "waste of time" and "butt f****** ugly" system  ;) I for one loves the challenge and the possibilities.

-Tony

You just described me in 8 simple sentences, you stupid lego-eater.
Title: Re: How much HD space do I need for Core + MDs?
Post by: davegravy on January 31, 2012, 02:50:44 pm
You just described me in 8 simple sentences, you stupid lego-eater.

Screw you, bongowongo!

  :-*
Title: Re: How much HD space do I need for Core + MDs?
Post by: toppot on January 31, 2012, 05:52:45 pm
You just described me in 8 simple sentences, you stupid lego-eater.

Lego-eater... So strange what you associate a nationality with... Could have been H.C. Andersen (and the little Mermaid), Tivoli, B&O (which is a dinosaur productline/brand), Wind Power (which incidentally is my game - We are world leaders here), Carlsberg (also my game, in a different way), Bacon - or Lego... Funny thing is that I actually (through a shared interest in Arabian horses) knows some of the billionaire (not in play money....) Lego owning family.

Where are you from, rabbit-eater??  8)
Title: Re: How much HD space do I need for Core + MDs?
Post by: posde on January 31, 2012, 06:04:31 pm
He is one of those people, who makes sure people can't drive fast on the German autobahn, annoys all sweet girls in the ski areas in the Alps, eats all the cheese, and sells drugs and flowers.
Title: Re: How much HD space do I need for Core + MDs?
Post by: bongowongo on January 31, 2012, 07:00:37 pm
I am from the Netherlands, I eat Weed, I smoke Tulips, and plant Hookers in my garden. But do not step on my wooden shoes, because I will, dancing on Tiesto, throw cheese at you.

p.s.
Wind energy
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:De_Kameel.jpg
Title: Re: How much HD space do I need for Core + MDs?
Post by: m3freak on January 31, 2012, 09:18:31 pm
Peace dude... and calm  8)

I prefer to rage every now and then.  :P

In all seriousness, I understand what you're saying and I agree with you.  I'll temper my replies from now on.  Or, at least I'll try.
Title: Re: How much HD space do I need for Core + MDs?
Post by: pointman87 on February 01, 2012, 08:44:25 pm
I am from the Netherlands, I eat Weed, I smoke Tulips, and plant Hookers in my garden. But do not step on my wooden shoes, because I will, dancing on Tiesto, throw cheese at you.

p.s.
Wind energy
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:De_Kameel.jpg

Lego-eater... So strange what you associate a nationality with... Could have been H.C. Andersen (and the little Mermaid), Tivoli, B&O (which is a dinosaur productline/brand), Wind Power (which incidentally is my game - We are world leaders here), Carlsberg (also my game, in a different way), Bacon - or Lego... Funny thing is that I actually (through a shared interest in Arabian horses) knows some of the billionaire (not in play money....) Lego owning family.

Where are you from, rabbit-eater??  8)

So in conclusion we know that non of you have a descent hockey-team then?  ;)
Title: Re: How much HD space do I need for Core + MDs?
Post by: Gangsingen on February 04, 2012, 09:25:01 pm
Here is HD-guru Steve Gibsons take on SSD:s.

http://youtu.be/X7bK3_bWkp0?t=58m35s (http://youtu.be/X7bK3_bWkp0?t=58m35s)

Maybe something to consider? Love Security Now!
Title: Re: How much HD space do I need for Core + MDs?
Post by: klovell on February 06, 2012, 08:13:47 pm
Ah crap.  I just noticed the kernel in 10.04 is 2.6.32-35.  There's no TRIM support in that version. TRIM hit mainline Linux in 2.6.33.  I guess I'll be using the SSD in my desktop!!!  

Thanks for posting. I meant to check this BEFORE getting the SSD, but I completely forgot.

If speed and reliability is what you're after a hardware raid 5 is a great solution.  Considering all the other tasks the core has to do I wouldn't go software raid unless you're using powerful/server grade hardware.  Leave managing the raid up to the raid controller.  For what you're willing to pay for a 80gb ssd, considering you're buying a quality ssd from a quality supplier, you can get a lower end raid controller and 3 small hard drives for maybe $100 more.  I havn't looked at ssd prices in a while but when I bought mine they were pretty expensive, and hard drive prices are on the rise.  I'm just giving you another option to look at.