LinuxMCE Forums

General => Users => Topic started by: davegravy on November 12, 2011, 07:54:07 am

Title: ZWave - send command to remote switch
Post by: davegravy on November 12, 2011, 07:54:07 am
I bought a Z-wave in-wall switch, and it isn't wired to a load - it's just controlling associated Z-wave devices.

When I turn the switch off by hand, a night-light LED at the bottom of the switch turns on. When I turn the group of lights out via LMCE as part of my bedtime scenario, the night light doesn't come on of course. I tried to add the remote switch device to the list of devices controlled by the bedtime scenario, but it seems there are no commands that can be sent to it.

Am I doing something wrong? I remember in Homeseer that the switch itself can be turned on and off remotely (and the night-light changes accordingly).

Cheers.
Title: Re: ZWave - send command to remote switch
Post by: hari on November 12, 2011, 04:44:58 pm
adding it to the scenario will send a zwave basic on/off to the switch itself. That should change its state and the led..

did you see anything weird in the logs?
Title: Re: ZWave - send command to remote switch
Post by: davegravy on November 12, 2011, 05:19:08 pm
Thanks Hari.

It can't seem to be added to a lighting scenario.

Also, the setup wizard doesn't find it, so I manually added it to the appropriate room via webadmin. It auto-detected as a Remote Switch (Template #1947), and the only device data it has is port/channel # (no Capabilities filed, etc). Is this perhaps the incorrect device template for such a device?

PS the device is an Evolve LTM-5 (http://www.aartech.ca/ltm-5-evolve-zwave-remote-wall-switch.html)
Title: Re: ZWave - send command to remote switch
Post by: davegravy on November 30, 2011, 07:12:43 pm
Hope I'm not being too persistent with this, but do you have any idea why this device has no commands that can be sent to it, or why it can't be added to a scenario as you mentioned?

Title: Re: ZWave - send command to remote switch
Post by: davegravy on November 30, 2011, 07:24:20 pm
new lighting scenario in webadmin
Title: Re: ZWave - send command to remote switch
Post by: hari on December 01, 2011, 07:52:50 pm
we probably need to adjust the web admin.. or you can use the advanced scenario thingy
Title: Re: ZWave - send command to remote switch
Post by: davegravy on December 01, 2011, 08:00:49 pm
ok...

I poked around in advanced->scenarios, but again there's no commands I can select to send to the remote switch device.
Title: Re: ZWave - send command to remote switch
Post by: davegravy on January 03, 2012, 10:25:57 pm
I see that the ticket I created has been marked as fixed:

http://svn.linuxmce.org/trac.cgi/ticket/1358

I updated my install and the problem persists. I don't see an option to re-open a ticket in SVN, so I've created a new one:

http://svn.linuxmce.org/trac.cgi/ticket/1387
Title: Re: ZWave - send command to remote switch
Post by: tschak909 on January 04, 2012, 03:42:15 am
don't use this as a remote switch, define it as a light switch (on/off)

-Thom
Title: Re: ZWave - send command to remote switch
Post by: davegravy on January 04, 2012, 11:45:08 pm
That seems to work. The bug then is simply that the switch autodetects as the wrong device.
Title: Re: ZWave - send command to remote switch
Post by: tschak909 on January 05, 2012, 01:00:25 am
we probably need to add some things to the remote controller device template, and to the web admin, actually.

-Thom