LinuxMCE Forums

General => Installation issues => Topic started by: brononius on August 24, 2011, 07:40:59 pm

Title: [Solved] Generic Proxy Orbiter
Post by: brononius on August 24, 2011, 07:40:59 pm
Hey,

I'm trying to get my android phone to be connected with linuxMCE.
I follow the procedure as seen on http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Web_Orbiter_2.0

I'm blocked on point 7.
Quote
Click the button 'Pick Device Template'. The Add Child Device Window will close, and the Generic Web Device will be added to the Core, as the updated Device Tree will show.
When i do a full regen of the specific orbiter, i got the space for the status. But no status. It seems to stop without doing anything.
A full regen of the default orbiter (fe OnScreen orbiter) is working correctly.


A bit strange to me, point 1-8 went very fast.
Quote
A new Generic Proxy Orbiter will also be created automatically. Watch the Orbiter generation process on the Orbiters page: Wizard-->Devices-->Orbiters.
When i look there, nothing special to see, a standard roaming orbiters is created.

When i check the server, nothing is listening on port 3461.
So i'm a bit stuck now...


Thanks for any hints, tips or tricks...
Title: Re: Generic Proxy Orbiter
Post by: bwhitson on August 24, 2011, 10:53:52 pm
OK.....HMM...

I'm not sure about the android but with my iPhone all I have to do is point the software at the proper port.
If you go into the WebAdmin click on "show device tree" you should see your child device sitting there.
Click on it and make sure it is set to the default port 3461.
If you do not have a child device called generic web orbiter then you missed a set.

How did you determine that your server was not listening on port 3461?

Title: Re: Generic Proxy Orbiter
Post by: posde on August 25, 2011, 07:55:45 am
You need a unique port for each of the proxy based orbiters.
Title: Re: Generic Proxy Orbiter
Post by: brononius on August 25, 2011, 09:54:11 am

The child device is in there. And in that, i see the listen port 3461 (already tried with 3462).

I'm checking the port on a terminal in the server with the command:
Code: [Select]
netstat -an | grep 3461
Normally you should retrieve a line that says: LISTENING 3461
Mine came back empty. And since the server isn't listening...
Title: Re: Generic Proxy Orbiter
Post by: purps on August 25, 2011, 10:37:16 am
In "My Devices", you should have a Generic Web Device, and as a child of this, the Generic Proxy Orbiter. Try clicking full regen again in Wizard -> Devices -> Orbiters and just waiting 10 minutes.

Have you already tried displaying the orbiter with your device? If you're using a browser, don't worry about inputting the port on the device, but you do still need to make sure the port is unique in web admin. If you are using darrenmason's touch orbiter, then you will need to input the listen port in the touch orbiter settings on the Android device.

Cheers,
Matt.
Title: Re: Generic Proxy Orbiter
Post by: totallymaxed on August 25, 2011, 10:54:06 am
Hey,

I'm trying to get my android phone to be connected with linuxMCE.
I follow the procedure as seen on http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Web_Orbiter_2.0

I'm blocked on point 7.When i do a full regen of the specific orbiter, i got the space for the status. But no status. It seems to stop without doing anything.
A full regen of the default orbiter (fe OnScreen orbiter) is working correctly.
...............

You must do a reload router first at this point and then regen the Orbiter.

All the best


Andrew
Title: Re: Generic Proxy Orbiter
Post by: brononius on August 25, 2011, 11:12:42 am
I'll give it a try this evening.

Just to be verify, can i pick in with the reload and go on.
Or is it best to delete proxy orbiter, reload/regen and recreate it all?
Title: Re: Generic Proxy Orbiter
Post by: totallymaxed on August 25, 2011, 11:28:36 am
I'll give it a try this evening.

Just to be verify, can i pick in with the reload and go on.
Or is it best to delete proxy orbiter, reload/regen and recreate it all?

Just a reload router should be fine

Andrew
Title: Re: Generic Proxy Orbiter
Post by: brononius on August 25, 2011, 09:06:19 pm
I was able to do a full regen with the extra 'reload' at step 7.

But still no port 3461 that is listening.

To be safe, i've tried it also with a complete remove of the orbiter, and did the whole procedure again. Now with the extra reload in between. But it gives me te same result.

When i check with netstat, no port is listening on 3461.
And of course, my android phone has the result 'connection failed'. What seems normal.

Any thoughts what i could check further?

Thanks!
Title: Re: Generic Proxy Orbiter
Post by: totallymaxed on August 25, 2011, 09:46:56 pm
I was able to do a full regen with the extra 'reload' at step 7.

But still no port 3461 that is listening.

To be safe, i've tried it also with a complete remove of the orbiter, and did the whole procedure again. Now with the extra reload in between. But it gives me te same result.

When i check with netstat, no port is listening on 3461.
And of course, my android phone has the result 'connection failed'. What seems normal.

Any thoughts what i could check further?

Thanks!

Are you sure that your Android Orbiter has all the configs right? Especially the port no.?

Andrew
Title: Re: Generic Proxy Orbiter
Post by: brononius on August 28, 2011, 08:50:41 am
When i run 'netstat -an | grep 3461', this is done on the server itself.

So if the server isn't listening on this port, i assume that no other device will be capable of connection to this port. Or am i missing something?
Title: Re: Generic Proxy Orbiter
Post by: brononius on August 28, 2011, 10:56:55 am
hmmm,

When i install the weborbiter, it should be reachable by a normal webbrowser as well, correct?

When i go to http://<ip-address>/lmce-admin/weborbiter.php, i receive a nice login screen. And i can select the 'child orbiter'.
Once i've done that, i've got a page with only some buttons (home-back-refresh-exit-logout) on. But i can't do anything else. When i do for example a refresh, it keeps on 'loading'...


I've also noticed, that when i do a quick reload, the core orbiter seems to crash.
Sometimes it's just a black screen, sometimes it stays on 'reconnecting to DCE router as requested'.
The remote adminpage is working correctly, but on the core screen, i can't do anything more.
When i do a hard reboot of the core, it comes back fine....
Title: Re: Generic Proxy Orbiter
Post by: purps on August 28, 2011, 12:51:53 pm
Do you have a folder called "bits" in /usr/pluto/orbiter? You should have, so make it if it is missing. It's unlikely this is the problem, but it is the only time I have seen what you are describing.

Which snapshot are you running, or are you on RC1? Upgraded?

Cheers,
Matt.
Title: Re: Generic Proxy Orbiter
Post by: brononius on August 28, 2011, 02:48:22 pm
For the moment it's : linuxMCE 8.10_24.0.12. An upgrade of an earlier version, because i had problems to install directly the latest version (boot dvd issues).

And you're right, i was missing the folder 'bits'.
So i've just created it, but after a full regen, it stays empty. Normal?
Title: Re: Generic Proxy Orbiter
Post by: purps on August 29, 2011, 02:31:13 am
For the moment it's : linuxMCE 8.10_24.0.12. An upgrade of an earlier version, because i had problems to install directly the latest version (boot dvd issues).

And you're right, i was missing the folder 'bits'.
So i've just created it, but after a full regen, it stays empty. Normal?

Not sure if this is necessary or not, but let's play it safe - delete your orbiters, reboot, then recreate them, paying special attention to the regens and reloads.

Cheers,
Matt.
Title: Re: Generic Proxy Orbiter
Post by: brononius on August 29, 2011, 08:01:44 am
I've tried, but this didn't solve the problem. The folder 'bit' stays empty.
So i think that other things were wrong as well.


So i toke the decision of formatting the machine. And installing the 8.10-RC1.
And ....... now it's working! I can control my lights with my android phone!
Somewhere along the way, the update wasn't done correctly apparently.

Nice.

Now adding all my lights, checking out the different skins....
Title: Re: [Solved] Generic Proxy Orbiter
Post by: darrenmason on August 30, 2011, 07:09:57 am
With the web orbiter now working you should also be able to use the Android native app as well. Search for the Android Touch Orbiter thread for details .....
Title: Re: [Solved] Generic Proxy Orbiter
Post by: brononius on August 30, 2011, 08:01:40 am
you should also be able to use the Android native app

Do you mean the Android Touch Orbiter?
From http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/AndroidTouchOrbiter ?

Is working... ;)


I just need to play around with the screen resolutions/skins so see what best fits me, and my DesireZ.
But... Rome wasn't build on one day.  :-X
Title: Re: [Solved] Generic Proxy Orbiter
Post by: darrenmason on August 31, 2011, 06:51:57 am
Screen resolutions won't change too much visually as the Android touch orbiter scales the image received to your device resolution (This happens in both orientations, hence the squashed effect when orientated vertically).

My suggestion would be to have a resolution which is relative to your actual  device (eg: 1/4 of each dimension). You will get some graining depending upon how low you go but you will also get benefit from less data transfer.

Skins are best left at the ones based on the basic UI1 skin for touch devices...
Title: Re: [Solved] Generic Proxy Orbiter
Post by: brononius on August 31, 2011, 08:17:10 am
I'm using now the iphone4 resolution. Works great with my HTC Desire Z.

I know, it's not ethic to use iphone and android together, but hey, it works... ;)
Title: Re: [Solved] Generic Proxy Orbiter
Post by: purps on August 31, 2011, 10:26:28 am
I'm using now the iphone4 resolution. Works great with my HTC Desire Z.

I know, it's not ethic to use iphone and android together, but hey, it works... ;)

They are just resolutions. For that phone you should try "Nokia770". Should fit perfectly.

Cheers,
Matt.