LinuxMCE Forums

General => Installation issues => Topic started by: kvelland on March 14, 2011, 10:00:22 am

Title: Asrock 330 as a MD, PXE boot help
Post by: kvelland on March 14, 2011, 10:00:22 am
I can't find any PXE boot options in my BIOS. And can only choose from booting from CDROM or HDD.

Is there any other way to install a MD than to use a netboot. Or is it possible to netboot this computer? Another nic?

Title: Re: Asrock 330 as a MD, PXE boot help
Post by: purps on March 14, 2011, 10:15:34 am
I would be surprised if that board doesn't have PXE. Check there's not an option saying "LAN" or "ROM", just enable anything that looks network related (making a note of what you have done!).

If it really doesn't have PXE boot capabilities, there are other options. You can either buy a NIC that does support it, perhaps using it with a 90 degree riser if you care about MD flatness. Or, you can generate your own network boot image http://www.rom-o-matic.net/. You can use a CD, floppy, or even USB I believe.

Provide a bit more information about your hardware/BIOS as well please.

Cheers,
Matt.
Title: Re: Asrock 330 as a MD, PXE boot help
Post by: posde on March 14, 2011, 10:41:06 am
In the BIOS, go to
* Advanced
* Chipset Configuration and enable Onboard LAN

After that
* Advanced
* ACPI Configuration
* Onboard LAN power on
Title: Re: Asrock 330 as a MD, PXE boot help
Post by: JoakimL on March 14, 2011, 10:36:43 pm
I use an Asrock 330 ION as MD; PXE boot works perfectly. Remember to disable the WLAN in the BIOS.


/Joakim
Title: Re: Asrock 330 as a MD, PXE boot help
Post by: maybeoneday on March 15, 2011, 10:16:30 am
Hi all,
could the bios need updating....see wikki   http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/ASUS_AT3N7A-I

regards
Ian
Title: Re: Asrock 330 as a MD, PXE boot help
Post by: kvelland on March 15, 2011, 10:22:59 am
In the BIOS, go to
* Advanced
* Chipset Configuration and enable Onboard LAN

After that
* Advanced
* ACPI Configuration
* Onboard LAN power on


Thank you man, great description, it works
Title: Re: Asrock 330 as a MD, PXE boot help
Post by: kvelland on March 15, 2011, 10:33:19 am
The first problem is solved.

This is the next one, added attachment.

The core is just default setup, I reach the core from the internal network, the DHCP server is working, there is no other DHCP server running.

Any idea
Title: Re: Asrock 330 as a MD, PXE boot help
Post by: sambuca on March 15, 2011, 11:08:57 am
Did you run /usr/pluto/bin/Diskless_CreateTBZ.sh on your core? It creates the inital boot image for MDs.

best regards,
sambuca
Title: Re: Asrock 330 as a MD, PXE boot help
Post by: kvelland on March 21, 2011, 11:53:48 am
I did  it now, and it is pxe booting.

Everything looks good untill it says "we announced ourself to the router", then it runs some scripts and then:

reebooting stopping all md deveices.

Then it reboots and goes into this same loop again.
Title: Re: Asrock 330 as a MD, PXE boot help
Post by: kvelland on March 21, 2011, 12:00:17 pm
btw.. Great having this forum, help is really appreiciated
Title: Re: Asrock 330 as a MD, PXE boot help
Post by: purps on March 21, 2011, 12:17:50 pm
Is it a kernel panic? Did you have to do anything to get the NIC recognized?

Cheers,
Matt.
Title: Re: Asrock 330 as a MD, PXE boot help
Post by: kvelland on March 22, 2011, 07:34:42 am
I canĀ“t see any messages about kernel panic. The NIC did work after I just enabled it in BIOS. No additional actions.

It just restarts with the messages quoted earlier.
Title: Re: Asrock 330 as a MD, PXE boot help
Post by: l3mce on March 22, 2011, 10:21:41 am
Just out of curiosity:

1. Did you interrupt it the first time it announced itself to the router, because it just hung there and didn't seem to be doing anything? Because it was doing things.
2. In web admin under "Media Directors" did it make one (should be two there now, 1st the hybrid, and second the MD)? If not, run /usr/pluto/bin/Diskless_CreateTBZ.sh again.
If so delete it, run /usr/pluto/bin/Diskless_CreateTBZ.sh again, then boot and do not interrupt it.
Title: Re: Asrock 330 as a MD, PXE boot help
Post by: kvelland on March 22, 2011, 09:36:40 pm
I did not interupt it and it did not make an ekstra MD.

I run the  /usr/pluto/bin/Diskless_CreateTBZ.sh command again.. Booted, same thing happens..

Anybody?
Title: Re: Asrock 330 as a MD, PXE boot help
Post by: kvelland on March 24, 2011, 10:51:57 pm
The weird thing is.. I just tested with another PC and everything worked fine. So the problem is with the Asrock. Any ideas?
Title: Re: Asrock 330 as a MD, PXE boot help
Post by: purps on March 25, 2011, 10:04:57 am
I think you should remove the Asrock MD in webadmin (leaving only the core/hybrid, and the other PC you just tested), reboot everything, and try again.

You have to be reeeaaally patient, especially with these small low power boards - they just take longer. If you think it might be stuck, just leave it, go to bed, leave it overnight and check it in the morning. If it's still stuck, give it a reboot only then, and see what happens.

Or, the motherboard is knackered. Try installing a normal Kubuntu desktop on it and see what happens, see if the NIC works, etc (you'll need to find a hard drive for this obviously).

Cheers,
Matt.
Title: Re: Asrock 330 as a MD, PXE boot help
Post by: purps on March 25, 2011, 10:07:27 am
Did you disable WLAN in BIOS like Joakim suggested? Not sure what difference this makes, but he usually knows what he's talking about ;)
Title: Re: Asrock 330 as a MD, PXE boot help
Post by: posde on March 25, 2011, 10:10:08 am
A quick note on MD removal. What I do is, change the MAC address entry in the MD i want to rebuild (replace a single character of MAC), and do a quick reload, followed by a reboot. After that, I can reboot the MD in question, and a new structure will be created, with the old one staying in place, in case I want to go back. Works nicely for me.
Title: Re: Asrock 330 as a MD, PXE boot help
Post by: kvelland on March 25, 2011, 12:39:05 pm
There is not any MD besides the Core/Hybrid and the one that I successfully PXE booted in the Web Admin. Is there any other place that I can remove it?
Title: Re: Asrock 330 as a MD, PXE boot help
Post by: kvelland on March 25, 2011, 12:44:13 pm
I use an Asrock 330 ION as MD; PXE boot works perfectly. Remember to disable the WLAN in the BIOS.


/Joakim

Hello.. I was not able to find any way to dissable the WLAN in Bios. Google did'nt help me either :)
Title: Re: Asrock 330 as a MD, PXE boot help
Post by: purps on March 25, 2011, 01:01:31 pm
There is not any MD besides the Core/Hybrid and the one that I successfully PXE booted in the Web Admin. Is there any other place that I can remove it?

I thought that when an MD announces itself to the router, it made the MD in web admin?

If there's nothing there, then I would just try again and be very patient.

I would also try the normal kubuntu installation thing just to make sure the hardware is OK.
Title: Re: Asrock 330 as a MD, PXE boot help
Post by: JoakimL on March 25, 2011, 08:20:59 pm
Disabling the WiFi is mandatory, it will not work otherways.
Go into BIOS setup (DEL / F2)
Goto Advanced
Choose Chipset Configuration
Second row is Onboard WiFi - set to Disabled


/Joakim