LinuxMCE Forums

General => Feature requests & roadmap => Topic started by: PowrrrPlay on July 07, 2010, 05:02:10 pm

Title: 810 64 bit support
Post by: PowrrrPlay on July 07, 2010, 05:02:10 pm
Is there a road map for 64 bit support on 810?
Title: Re: 810 64 bit support
Post by: davegravy on July 07, 2010, 05:14:18 pm
Last I heard from the devs, the time investment to provide 64 bit support isn't worth the benfits. So, probably not.
Title: Re: 810 64 bit support
Post by: john14paul80 on August 18, 2010, 10:56:32 am
I think that thing is not yet existed...
Title: Re: 810 64 bit support
Post by: donpaul on September 02, 2010, 07:26:29 pm
That's too bad, since 32G is holds us below 4G memory. I have tried adding a couple features to linuxmce but I run out of memory. I was swapping 2G at one point when running some python code.

Being stuck on 32 bit is embarrassing and frustrating. Guess I'll recompile my kernel for hugemem.
Title: Re: 810 64 bit support
Post by: phenigma on September 02, 2010, 09:11:24 pm
That's too bad, since 32G is holds us below 4G memory. I have tried adding a couple features to linuxmce but I run out of memory. I was swapping 2G at one point when running some python code.

I just have to ask...  what are you doing that swaps 2GB of RAM???  :-O  I can't fathom anything in this system requiring that much RAM for any task.

J.
Title: Re: 810 64 bit support
Post by: wierdbeard65 on September 02, 2010, 09:35:08 pm
for my part, I'd like to be able to run 64-bit OS as I have a beast of a box (16Gb RAM, Quad-Core etc) which I would like to run MCE on alongside some virtualizing software (haven't decided which one).

I don't really want my core virtualized (although that is a possibility) but I could go that way too....
Title: Re: 810 64 bit support
Post by: donpaul on September 03, 2010, 12:58:51 am
That's too bad, since 32G is holds us below 4G memory. I have tried adding a couple features to linuxmce but I run out of memory. I was swapping 2G at one point when running some python code.

I just have to ask...  what are you doing that swaps 2GB of RAM???  :-O  I can't fathom anything in this system requiring that much RAM for any task.

J.

I ran sabnzbd and sickbeard, 2 python scripts. I can home yesterday to a 2G swap in use.

What I see now:
Cpu(s):  0.6%us,  1.6%sy,  0.0%ni, 96.9%id,  0.0%wa,  0.3%hi,  0.5%si,  0.0%st
Mem:   3240868k total,  2495556k used,   745312k free,   238568k buffers
Swap: 10304588k total,     4976k used, 10299612k free,  1661372k cached


Title: Re: 810 64 bit support
Post by: posde on September 03, 2010, 08:08:48 am
/me waits for someone to point out the obvious
Title: Re: 810 64 bit support
Post by: phenigma on September 03, 2010, 09:13:41 pm

I ran sabnzbd and sickbeard, 2 python scripts. I can home yesterday to a 2G swap in use.

What I see now:
Cpu(s):  0.6%us,  1.6%sy,  0.0%ni, 96.9%id,  0.0%wa,  0.3%hi,  0.5%si,  0.0%st
Mem:   3240868k total,  2495556k used,   745312k free,   238568k buffers
Swap: 10304588k total,     4976k used, 10299612k free,  1661372k cached

/me waits for someone to point out the obvious

Hmm, donpaul I'm not sure I follow, the information you posted shows only 5MB of cache being used and 0.75GB of RAM still available...

J
Title: Re: 810 64 bit support
Post by: donpaul on September 06, 2010, 04:02:46 am

Hmm, donpaul I'm not sure I follow, the information you posted shows only 5MB of cache being used and 0.75GB of RAM still available...

J

Yeah, haha, I see the confusion. I moved my python scripts to a separate server and rebooted. I was only pointing out that it's fine when not running the other crap, and there is nothing out or normal running on the server.