LinuxMCE Forums

General => Users => Topic started by: TonyBryan on May 03, 2010, 12:18:33 pm

Title: Windows Mobile 6 Orbiters (HTC Touch HD)
Post by: TonyBryan on May 03, 2010, 12:18:33 pm
Hi,

Has anyone had any luck getting a WM6 mobile phone to work as an orbiter.  Specifically I have an HTC Touch HD that I'd like to get working.  The Windows CE CAB will intall, and I can get through the orbiter setup, but then PocketFrog just consumes all the memory on the phone until I have to reboot it.

I've seen on the wiki that someone got a WM5 XDAii working... does anyone know how this was done.

For bonus marks, has anyone had any luck getting the web orbiter to work on a mobile web browser?  I find it just keeps refreshing, and I can't actually work any of the buttons.

Thanks,
T
Title: Re: Windows Mobile 6 Orbiters (HTC Touch HD)
Post by: maverick0815 on May 03, 2010, 06:23:58 pm
Interesting...I got the HTC HD2...I was going to try the java-orbiter...have you given that one a try?
Title: Re: Windows Mobile 6 Orbiters (HTC Touch HD)
Post by: Thingie on May 03, 2010, 06:54:40 pm
I also have a HTC touch HD and you' can't get the CAB orbiter to work. I've spent hours on this and it just won't work. Never tried the java orbitter though. You should give that a try. Java is supported by the Touch HD.

Grtz

Thingie
Title: Re: Windows Mobile 6 Orbiters (HTC Touch HD)
Post by: Techstyle on May 03, 2010, 07:27:34 pm
I have the XDAIIi working.

I connect via wifi then download the installation file (not sure if it was the 'XScale' or 'Intel X86' version) then ran it.  It goes through set up and just works, nothing special was needed.
Title: Re: Windows Mobile 6 Orbiters (HTC Touch HD)
Post by: Thingie on May 03, 2010, 07:34:27 pm
I have the XDAIIi working.

I connect via wifi then download the installation file (not sure if it was the 'XScale' or 'Intel X86' version) then ran it.  It goes through set up and just works, nothing special was needed.

Are you using 810 version? If I trie to download the orbiter from the server it always gives me a 0kb file. If you have the working cab can you please send it to me? Send me a pm and I'll give you my email address. I've read some more posts on the forum that the orbiters are 0kb. Pls send me the CAB

Thx a lot

Thingie
Title: Re: Windows Mobile 6 Orbiters (HTC Touch HD)
Post by: Thingie on May 03, 2010, 07:36:11 pm
btw I'm trying the java orbiter on my HTC Touch HD and so far no luck. it gives java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError. I'll keep trying and keep the post updated.
Title: Re: Windows Mobile 6 Orbiters (HTC Touch HD)
Post by: Techstyle on May 03, 2010, 08:08:57 pm
I am using 0810 but I installed it in 0710 and when I upgraded it fired up, just the same as before. 

I would look at this http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=9791.0 (http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=9791.0) for a download location
Title: Re: Windows Mobile 6 Orbiters (HTC Touch HD)
Post by: TonyBryan on May 04, 2010, 07:24:23 am
The 'missing link' installer is an MSI for XP machines - not for WM6, or am I missing something?

Thingie - how do you begin to install the JavaMO?  Is there somewhere I can get the .jad or .jar files?
Title: Re: Windows Mobile 6 Orbiters (HTC Touch HD)
Post by: Thingie on May 07, 2010, 12:18:03 am
The 'missing link' installer is an MSI for XP machines - not for WM6, or am I missing something?

Thingie - how do you begin to install the JavaMO?  Is there somewhere I can get the .jad or .jar files?

You're right about the link it's for windows desktop not mobile.

To set up the Java you need to connect with bluetooth. So one of your MD's or Core has to have bluetooth. Create a new orbiter in the webadmin. There you have the choice for a 'java mobile device' or something like that. Check the box that says 'resend the application to mobile device' and fill in your bluetooth mac address in the mac address field. Save everything. The screen of your orbiter should show the code you should use to make the connection  with your phone. '1234' by default. Approve the incomming connection on your phone and the java installer will download. Open Java and install. Good luck with it because it won't work on my Touch HD.

Grtz

Thingie
Title: Re: Windows Mobile 6 Orbiters (HTC Touch HD)
Post by: Techstyle on May 07, 2010, 01:50:08 am
try this:

http://langstonball.com/attachments/Orbiter_CeNet4_XScale.CAB
Title: Re: Windows Mobile 6 Orbiters (HTC Touch HD)
Post by: golgoj4 on May 07, 2010, 02:08:25 am
Im not sure which you were looking for, so i just added both.

http://langstonball.com/linuxmce-topmenu-31/25-software/61-orbiter-setup-for-ce

hope that what you need.

golgoj4
Title: Re: Windows Mobile 6 Orbiters (HTC Touch HD)
Post by: maverick0815 on May 08, 2010, 06:51:03 pm
hmm..seems the hd2 doesn't like the orbiter software...the memory in the phone was immediately full, though I installed it on the memory card
Title: Re: Windows Mobile 6 Orbiters (HTC Touch HD)
Post by: TonyBryan on May 09, 2010, 09:05:00 pm
Yep, that's my experience with the CE orbiter - just fills the memory of the phone in about 30s.

I'm having issues with my bluetooth dongle (Belkin F8T016) but once I've overcome that I'll give the JavaMO a go.
Title: Re: Windows Mobile 6 Orbiters (HTC Touch HD)
Post by: maverick0815 on June 20, 2010, 11:42:13 am
any success so far? I've tried for some time now, but I cannot get the javamo to my cellphone...so I just tried copying the file to the phone and installed it...now I only have a white window with a title bar that say JavaMo...nothing else...and my phone insists I pair it with the dcerouter :-(
Title: Re: Windows Mobile 6 Orbiters (HTC Touch HD)
Post by: maverick0815 on October 02, 2010, 12:57:09 pm
okay, I know this is an old thread, but I'm trying to revive it.
I now have a rom on my HTC hd2 with Sun Java 7.1 supporting JSR82.
I edited the registry on that phone, so that pairing the devices is not required anymore. I also changed the registry, so that authorisation would not be required anymore. Still they Core fails to push the java orbiter. I again copied the javamo.jar to the phone and tried to execute it.
Here is the report:
Quote
Application cannot be installed because critical information is missing from the application file (.jad)

edit: okay, slap me silly....the file is 0 byte.....do you know where I can get the actual file?
Title: Re: Windows Mobile 6 Orbiters (HTC Touch HD)
Post by: daballiemo on October 02, 2010, 03:22:16 pm
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Touch_Orbiter_for_the_HTC_Touch2_mobile_phone

rgds

Han
Title: Re: Windows Mobile 6 Orbiters (HTC Touch HD)
Post by: maverick0815 on October 02, 2010, 05:38:46 pm
thanks alot mate, but its not working for me.
I compiled it all without problems, copied the edited the orbiter.ini appropriately and copied the arm-directory to my sd.
When I start the program, I get an error message :Failed to load png. Other than that, I see the rotating cursor and thats it.
Title: Re: Windows Mobile 6 Orbiters (HTC Touch HD)
Post by: daballiemo on October 02, 2010, 07:19:42 pm
If u follow the thread http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=10432.msg72617#msg72617 (http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=10432.msg72617#msg72617)-> set picture quality to 100 solves the png problem....

rgds

Han
Title: Re: Windows Mobile 6 Orbiters (HTC Touch HD)
Post by: maverick0815 on October 03, 2010, 11:39:55 am
Thanks again for the help. That one did it.
Now its back to orientation and resolution... I cannot get it in the right orientation. It doesn't matter if its horizontal or vertical. On my phone the image always runs out to the right side. I don't know, something seems to interpret the resolution the wrong way
Title: Re: Windows Mobile 6 Orbiters (HTC Touch HD)
Post by: daballiemo on October 03, 2010, 12:01:20 pm
I have it set upright. The following is in the orbiter webmin page:

Skin: Basic
Size: 240x320 (PDA)
UI: PDA (4:3 vertical style)

Do not forget to do a fullregen and a reload of the router

rgds

Han
Title: Re: Windows Mobile 6 Orbiters (HTC Touch HD)
Post by: maverick0815 on October 03, 2010, 01:21:25 pm
Okay, thats at least a working solution. Horizontal would be way better though, but I don't want to sound like whining. I guess something will be coming along that road.
Thanks again :-)
Title: Re: Windows Mobile 6 Orbiters (HTC Touch HD)
Post by: posde on October 03, 2010, 03:26:51 pm
Remember that the UI PDA is not as complete as the regular UI
Title: Re: Windows Mobile 6 Orbiters (HTC Touch HD)
Post by: maverick0815 on October 03, 2010, 04:04:40 pm
I'm well aware of that, but so far for my phone its at least working like that. I wish I could rotate the display for the touchorbiter but thats a no go so far.
Weborbiter also gives me Problems with the resolution. It only works well if I configure opera for mobile view, which is not how I usually use it
On the other hand, I would very much like to use the java mobile orbiter with bluetooth, but so far I don't seem to have that one on my system.
Title: Re: Windows Mobile 6 Orbiters (HTC Touch HD)
Post by: zim on October 13, 2010, 10:43:00 pm
Hello,

Im trying to fore my HTC TyTn II to work whit LMCE,

I made every thing according to WIKI (http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Touch_Orbiter_for_the_HTC_Touch2_mobile_phone)

But im still getting message not connected.

Did any one was able to force that cellphone to work ?
What files should be in arm catalogue(maybe i compiled it wrong)
Where can I find port number (is it device id #)

Thanks in advance for Your help.

Title: Re: Windows Mobile 6 Orbiters (HTC Touch HD)
Post by: maverick0815 on October 14, 2010, 01:26:46 pm
check this out: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Web_Orbiter

you have to follow the steps detailed under SETUP, since this will give you the Proxy Orbiter. You should check the config of the Proxy Orbiter for the Listening Port- thats the one you have to put in the ini-file.
if you followed the WIKI, as you said, then you should copy the complete arm directory to your SD, turn the Wifi of your cell on and start the orbiter. Also set the png quality to 100 as mentioned earlier here.
Title: Re: Windows Mobile 6 Orbiters (HTC Touch HD)
Post by: zim on October 14, 2010, 09:02:32 pm
Thanks a lot maverick0815, now I have it working :)

I'm trying to find way to disable windows bar.

Title: Re: Windows Mobile 6 Orbiters (HTC Touch HD)
Post by: joerod on October 15, 2010, 02:02:08 pm
I use a htc mogul and have had some success creating a web orbiter and using opera 10 to access it.  I'm still working a little on getting to look and feel better.  I also tried the touch orbiter someone prepared for the HTC Touch 2 and it seems to work, kinda (lots of freezing and wierd stuff happening...) I'm going to continue testing and post follow ups here...