Author Topic: hdmi cec  (Read 22068 times)

domotiqa.com

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 206
    • View Profile
    • home automation
hdmi cec
« on: February 17, 2010, 02:53:57 pm »
here an interresting project:
http://www.arduino.cc/cgi-bin/yabb2/YaBB.pl?num=1261237176/60

to control device througt hdmi cable !
http://www.domotiqa.com - home automation

jimbodude

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 372
    • View Profile
Re: hdmi cec
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2010, 05:09:43 pm »
part of the standard, but the communication isn't standardized:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HDMI#CEC

domotiqa.com

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 206
    • View Profile
    • home automation
Re: hdmi cec
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2010, 01:21:48 pm »
ok however, if you look in the project some people stores the command that work (on/off...)

Could be cool to use hdmi command instead of IR
http://www.domotiqa.com - home automation

jimbodude

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 372
    • View Profile
Re: hdmi cec
« Reply #3 on: February 18, 2010, 02:36:01 pm »
Yes, it would be similar to the RS232 interfaces - where every vendor has their own way of doing things.

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4458
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: hdmi cec
« Reply #4 on: February 18, 2010, 11:57:42 pm »
Yes, it would be similar to the RS232 interfaces - where every vendor has their own way of doing things.

Exactly right. Thats the basic problem CEC... it will end up being a different implementation for each vendors hardware. Therefore another mess :-(

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

domotiqa.com

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 206
    • View Profile
    • home automation
Re: hdmi cec
« Reply #5 on: February 21, 2010, 09:15:09 am »
yep, however, if you have a look in the link of my previous post, you'll see that:http://www.andrewncarr.com/hdmi/hdmi-cec-codes.xls

A good start !
http://www.domotiqa.com - home automation

jimbodude

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 372
    • View Profile
Re: hdmi cec
« Reply #6 on: February 22, 2010, 04:50:22 pm »
My point was that CEC doesn't seem to solve any problems that RS232 doesn't solve, except one less cable.

wierdbeard65

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 449
    • View Profile
    • My Quest
Re: hdmi cec
« Reply #7 on: February 22, 2010, 06:22:54 pm »
Just browsing and stumbles across this one.

My TV does have HDMI, but not RS232, another problem this would solve.....
Paul
If you have the time to help, please see where I have got to at: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Wierdbeard65

jimbodude

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 372
    • View Profile
Re: hdmi cec
« Reply #8 on: February 22, 2010, 06:32:54 pm »
My TV does have HDMI, but not RS232, another problem this would solve.....

Assuming that your TV can handle CEC communications...  As I understand it, most do not support those features yet.

wierdbeard65

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 449
    • View Profile
    • My Quest
Re: hdmi cec
« Reply #9 on: February 22, 2010, 07:02:02 pm »
Damn!   >:(

As they say, as one door closes another one slams in your face!  :'(
Paul
If you have the time to help, please see where I have got to at: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Wierdbeard65

dowster

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: hdmi cec
« Reply #10 on: October 13, 2010, 06:05:55 am »
from what ive heard every device model has its own id code for its hdmi, maybe have a trainer built into lmce and have it tell you what buttons to press so it can capture the codes, then upload them to the wiki or something. im not good at coding yet so im just throwing this out there. scrutinize away  :P

sambuca

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 447
    • View Profile
Re: hdmi cec
« Reply #11 on: October 13, 2010, 08:07:54 am »
Unfortunately, there are very limited (if any) support for accessing CEC through graphics cards. This is a hardware and driver issue, which we have no control over.

When/if that is solved, your suggestion might work. But putting the codes in the wiki is a big NO-NO!! We have a device template system for such things (this is how IR codes are stored today). I suggest you try to understand device templates, as it will make it easier to understand the system

best regards,
sambuca

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3013
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: hdmi cec
« Reply #12 on: October 13, 2010, 09:25:32 am »
Regarding HDMI-CEC, as pointed out elsewhere in the forum. There is a USB2HDMI-CEC device available. If anyone is willing to do dev work on integrating it into our system, or sponsor other people to do so, lmce has all the plumbing in place to control devices via HDMI-CEC.

wierdbeard65

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 449
    • View Profile
    • My Quest
Re: hdmi cec
« Reply #13 on: October 13, 2010, 02:47:21 pm »
Pos,

I've done a quick search of the forum and can't find the thread you refer to. I appreciate it may come to nothing, but I'd like to monitor the thread anyway  ;D CAn you post a link to it please?

Thanks!
Paul
If you have the time to help, please see where I have got to at: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Wierdbeard65

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3013
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: hdmi cec
« Reply #14 on: October 13, 2010, 05:11:47 pm »
The device I talked about was this: http://rainshadowtech.com/default_files/HDMICECUSB.htm