Author Topic: [SOLVED] No sound after Beta 2 Installation  (Read 1506 times)

Rukus

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
    • View Profile
[SOLVED] No sound after Beta 2 Installation
« on: December 21, 2009, 01:35:14 am »
So I've completed my Beta 2 installation, but I'm having problems getting the sound going.  To be perfectly honest, I have no clue what the problem could be as I as all the alsa packages installed. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Ernesto
« Last Edit: December 23, 2009, 08:43:22 pm by underfunded »
Core/Generic Hybrid MD
Motherboard: ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe AM2 NVIDIA nForce 570 SLI MCP ATX
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz Socket AM2 125W Dual-Core
GPU: GPU: XFX PVT84GUDF3 GeForce 8600 GTS 256MB 128-bit GDDR3

King

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
Re: No sound after Beta 2 Installation
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2009, 03:23:38 pm »
More info please! What mobo are you using, sound card if applicable, connection type?
Core Running as Hybrid:
Asus P5N7A-VM Mobo
On Board NVIDIA Geforce 9300
Single 500G HD
PCI NIC
Currently running 8.10
No MD's Yet
Buffalo Linkstation NAS
Sharp Aquos LC-46SE94U

Rukus

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
    • View Profile
Re: No sound after Beta 2 Installation
« Reply #2 on: December 21, 2009, 04:03:34 pm »
More info please! What mobo are you using, sound card if applicable, connection type?

Sorry about that, but I thought that since my beta 1 install had no problems with sound that this might have been a common issue.

Mobo: ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe AM2 NVIDIA nForce 570 SLI MCP ATX AMD Motherboard

Onboard Sound card: Analog connection
Core/Generic Hybrid MD
Motherboard: ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe AM2 NVIDIA nForce 570 SLI MCP ATX
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz Socket AM2 125W Dual-Core
GPU: GPU: XFX PVT84GUDF3 GeForce 8600 GTS 256MB 128-bit GDDR3

kyfalcon

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
    • View Profile
Re: No sound after Beta 2 Installation
« Reply #3 on: December 21, 2009, 04:35:18 pm »
try going to a command prompt and run alsamixer I have found after installation some things get turned off. Use the arrow keys to go thru the different items and use the 'm' key to toggle them off and on. Then hit escape to exit. Hope this helps.

Rukus

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
    • View Profile
Re: No sound after Beta 2 Installation
« Reply #4 on: December 21, 2009, 08:12:56 pm »
try going to a command prompt and run alsamixer I have found after installation some things get turned off. Use the arrow keys to go thru the different items and use the 'm' key to toggle them off and on. Then hit escape to exit. Hope this helps.


Thanks Kyfalcon. Your advice worked on my core, but I'm still having trouble with the sound on the Diskless MD. I don't understand why it's acting up now, when it was working fine with Beta 1.

Ernesto
Core/Generic Hybrid MD
Motherboard: ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe AM2 NVIDIA nForce 570 SLI MCP ATX
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz Socket AM2 125W Dual-Core
GPU: GPU: XFX PVT84GUDF3 GeForce 8600 GTS 256MB 128-bit GDDR3

Rukus

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
    • View Profile
Re: [SOLVED] No sound after Beta 2 Installation
« Reply #5 on: December 23, 2009, 08:44:58 pm »
I re-imaged my MD, and after I made it a i386, the audio issue cleared itself up. 

Thanks for the help,

Ernesto
Core/Generic Hybrid MD
Motherboard: ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe AM2 NVIDIA nForce 570 SLI MCP ATX
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz Socket AM2 125W Dual-Core
GPU: GPU: XFX PVT84GUDF3 GeForce 8600 GTS 256MB 128-bit GDDR3