Author Topic: How do you upgrade w/o losing your settings?  (Read 905 times)

tmwillett

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
How do you upgrade w/o losing your settings?
« on: May 26, 2011, 01:48:16 am »
I've been tinkering with LMCE 8.10 for months now getting ready to use it for the home, but before I do, I want to try the latest snapshot on a fresh build.  Problem is, I don't want to lose the settings I've been creating for lighting, video, mythtv, etc.  Is there a way to back up my existing database and configs?  For one, I don't want to invest in the whole solution ($1500 worth of hardware by the time I'm done) until I know that if I lose my core pc, I can easily restore it later via a backup.  I've tried the backup and restore option within LMCE Webadmin, but that doesn't seem to do anything.  How do you guys move from one snapshot to another without losing your settings?  If LMCE doesn't have anything built in, can you tell me what directories to backup as well as how to backup the database? 

Thanks,


sambuca

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 445
    • View Profile
Re: How do you upgrade w/o losing your settings?
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2011, 10:03:38 am »
You can do a update/upgrade of your current installation, if you like. That is what most of us do.
Simply do run:
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade

To receive the latest updates. The http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/LinuxMCE-0810_beta page details what fixes and sometimes new features that are delivered in each update.

best regards,
sambuca

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1381
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: How do you upgrade w/o losing your settings?
« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2011, 10:34:11 am »
Consider creating a backup image first http://clonezilla.org/

I do one every time I get something working, and name it accordingly.

Cheers,
Matt.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4412
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: How do you upgrade w/o losing your settings?
« Reply #3 on: May 26, 2011, 10:54:24 am »
Consider creating a backup image first http://clonezilla.org/

I do one every time I get something working, and name it accordingly.

Cheers,
Matt.

Yep...thats excellent advice.

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

tmwillett

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
Re: How do you upgrade w/o losing your settings?
« Reply #4 on: May 26, 2011, 06:40:26 pm »
Thanks.  I've done the apt-get update and upgrade before but didn't really see much of a change.  Then again, I'm not sure where to see the differences unless it's an obvious change.  I'll definitely make a backup using Clonezilla.  That's great advice, especially for the disaster scenario.

Thanks!

merkur2k

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 513
    • View Profile
Re: How do you upgrade w/o losing your settings?
« Reply #5 on: May 27, 2011, 07:42:22 am »
media attributes are stored on disk along with the media as well as in the database, so as long as your media collection is backed up you will not lose anything there.
as for device configs, well thats why there are wizards for everything, and why there are device templates. as long as you are creating and submitting device templates for any unsupported hardware, it will be simple to set it up again after a new installation.