Author Topic: Orbiter on Zaurus II  (Read 15834 times)

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Orbiter on Zaurus II
« on: August 14, 2006, 11:30:32 pm »
Hi,
I am starting a new thread on this because I have changed diretions a little. I am now trying to build this on Openembedded. I have been hacking at this for about a month and I think I am finally pretty close. I have successfully compiled, SerializeClass, PlutoUtils, DCE. I am now trying to compile Orbiter and have run into an error that I think is not OE related...

When I run a make bin on Orbiter, it shows that all of the dependencies check out. But then I get the following error:

| ccache arm-linux-g++ -march=armv5te -mtune=xscale -c -I/home/oc60174/oe/build/tmp/staging/arm-linux/include-I./ -I../ -I../DCE/ -I../VIPShared/ -I/home/oc60174/oe/build/tmp/staging/arm-linux/include/mysql -I/home/oc60174/oe/build/tmp/staging/arm-linux/include -I/home/oc60174/oe/build/tmp/staging/arm-linux/include/X11 -I/home/oc60174/oe/build/tmp/staging/arm-linux/include/SDL -I/home/oc60174/oe/build/tmp/staging/arm-linux/include/glib-2.0 -I/home/oc60174/oe/build/tmp/staging/arm-linux/include/glib-2.0/glib -D_FILE_OFFSET_BITS=64 -D_LARGEFILE_SOURCE -D_DEVEL_DEFINES -DUSE_LZO_DATAGRID -D_GNU_SOURCE -DORBITER -DCACHE_IMAGES -DENABLE_MOUSE_BEHAVIOR -I/Splitter -I/OrbiterGen -L/home/oc60174/oe/build/tmp/staging/arm-linux/lib/X11/lib -I/home/oc60174/oe/build/tmp/staging/arm-linux/include/X11/include -DUSE_WX_LIB=0 -I/home/oc60174/oe/build/tmp/staging/arm-linux/include -fexpensive-optimizations -fomit-frame-pointer -frename-registers -O2 -fpermissive-Wall -ggdb3 -DUSE_WX_LIB=0 TaskManager.cpp -o TaskManager.o
| In file included from TaskManager.h:11,
|                  from TaskManager.cpp:3:
| ../PlutoUtils/singleton.h: In static member function `static T* cpp::NoCreation<T>::CreateInstance()':
| ../PlutoUtils/singleton.h:21: error: `logic_error' is not a member of `std'
| ../PlutoUtils/singleton.h: In static member function `static void cpp::NoCreation<T>::DestroyInstance(T*)':
| ../PlutoUtils/singleton.h:22: error: `logic_error' is not a member of `std'
| ../PlutoUtils/singleton.h: In static member function `static typename cpp::Singleton<T, CreationPolicy, LifetimePolicy, ThreadingModel>::RefType cpp::Singleton<T, CreationPolicy, LifetimePolicy, ThreadingModel>::Instance()':
| ../PlutoUtils/singleton.h:184: warning: there are no arguments to `OnDeadReference' that depend on a template parameter, so a declaration of `OnDeadReference' must be available
| ../PlutoUtils/singleton.h:187: warning: there are no arguments to `CreateInstance' that depend on a template parameter, so a declaration of `CreateInstance' must be available
| make: *** [TaskManager.o] Error 1
| FATAL: oe_runmake failed
NOTE: Task failed: /home/oc60174/oe/build/tmp/work/orbiter-11205.1.1-r0/temp/log.do_compile.8115
NOTE: package orbiter-11205.1.1-r0: task do_compile: failed
ERROR: TaskFailed event exception, aborting
NOTE: package orbiter-11205.1.1: failed
ERROR: Build of orbiter failed

Is this something that is easily remedied?

Rob

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Orbiter on Zaurus II
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2006, 02:56:41 am »
I had that same error while building with gcc-4.  The addition of a header cleared it  up.  I added:
#include <stdexcept>
to CommonIncludes.h in PlutoUtils  Hope this helps.

Jason

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Orbiter on Zaurus II
« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2006, 09:55:30 am »
Hi,

TaskManager.cpp is no longer used in Orbiter (just did a cleanup in Orbiter) and also src/PlutoUtils/singleton.h is not longer used in Orbiter. I guess the best solution for you would be to do a svn update ( newbielink:http://svn.plutohome.com/pluto/trunk/src/Orbiter [nonactive]) and get the latest sources and you'll have this issue fixed.

Best regards,
Cristian Miron

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
What version to use?
« Reply #3 on: August 19, 2006, 12:36:52 am »
Chris,
Thanks for that. I am building this in OE and can specify which version number to use. I have been using 11205. Is there a better version to use?

Thanks,
Rob

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Orbiter on Zaurus II
« Reply #4 on: August 19, 2006, 05:28:46 pm »
One more thing. In the Orbiter Makefile, there is a line:

XTRALDLIBS += -lDCECommon -lSDL -lSDL_ttf -lSDL_image -lSGE -lSDL_gfx -lXtst -lXext -lGL -lXrender -lGLU

I am assuming that -lGL and -lGLU are openGL? Am I safe removing those? I read somewhere that openGL is not required?

Let me know because they are throwing errors on me.

Thanks,
Rob

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Orbiter on Zaurus II
« Reply #5 on: August 20, 2006, 12:53:48 am »
Indeed. We had an experimental Orbiter will opengl effects. Now, it's a separte project. You can remove those references, it's safe.

Best regards,
Cristian Miron

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Success!
« Reply #6 on: August 21, 2006, 07:55:57 am »
Yeah, I actually got Orbiter to compile in OpenEmbedded for the Zaurus.
I am now trying to work out the packaging for it.

Chris, what are going to be required for this? I think I have mysql serializeclass dce plutoutils libsdl-gfx libsdl-ttf libsdl-sge. X11 will already be there as I am using the GPE os.

Also, anyone willing to test this let me know. I don't have a PlutoHome server set up yet...

Rob

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Orbiter on Zaurus II
« Reply #7 on: August 21, 2006, 09:20:12 am »
Hi,

We have a Zaurus here, so I can test it. :) Please send me the binaries and I'll take care of this.  ( chris.m at plutohome dot com )

Best regards,
Cristian Miron

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Cool
« Reply #8 on: August 21, 2006, 03:53:54 pm »
What kind of zaurus is it? I compiled it for Akita (SL-C1000). It should theoretically work for any SL-C3X00 as well.  Also, you will have to re-flash it to OpenZaurus - GPE before it will work for these binaries. Instructions here: newbielink:http://wiki.openzaurus.org/Akita/Install#Introduction [nonactive]

Thanks for doing that!

Rob

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Orbiter on Zaurus II
« Reply #9 on: August 21, 2006, 04:36:51 pm »
It's a very old one, a SL5000.

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Collie is old...
« Reply #10 on: August 21, 2006, 06:48:04 pm »
Chris.M,
It does look like there is now a 2.6 kernel available for Collie. It is version 3.5.4.2. I don't see it up on the feeds yet though...

Actually, it looks like it is here:
newbielink:http://ewi546.ewi.utwente.nl/tmp/hrw/3.5.4.2-test/rc1/ [nonactive]

The announcement is here:
newbielink:http://openzaurus.org/wordpress/ [nonactive]

I emailed you a tar.gz file with the binaries. I don't know if it will work on a Collie as I compiled it for Akita... If it doesn't I can try recompiling for Collie.

Let me know.

Thanks for all of your help chris.m!

Rob

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Orbiter on Zaurus II
« Reply #11 on: August 22, 2006, 12:30:12 am »
I would also be interested in Collie support as I have an SL5500.  I saw that Collie now had 2.6 support, however I will be staying with 2.4 for a while since the 2.6 kernel for Collie has no support for the sd slot or sound.

Thanks,
Jason

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Orbiter on Zaurus II
« Reply #12 on: August 22, 2006, 01:06:31 am »
jspeckman,
Would you be willing to set up a bitbake environment and give it a try for Collie? I can provide you with the bb files. My problem right now is I don't have any more room on my dev box. I only have about 51MB left on my linux partition. And I haven't been able to install bitbake on to my box at home (running Suse 10 x86_64).  Let me know.

Just another thought... Could you try an altboot off a CF? Using the 3.5.4.2?

Rob

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Collie
« Reply #13 on: August 22, 2006, 12:43:56 pm »
Good news about getting it to compile.  I've been battling with getting a remote control working properly on my plutohome system and have finally decided that I need to get something else working instead.  I have an old Zaurus 5500 which I could use for testing.  Any reason it requires GPE?  I thought SDL abstracted all the X stuff.

Alex.

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Orbiter on Zaurus II
« Reply #14 on: August 22, 2006, 03:23:25 pm »
dothedog,
I'd be happy to give it a try.  Could you point me to docs for setting up bitbake?  I could altboot from CF, but then I'd have no network (don't remember if usb is supported yet or not)  I'll try to get it running under the 3.5.4 environment on collie first though.  I also have an SL5500 emulator on my machine to play with so loading 3.5.4.2 on that is no problem.  I'm also wondering why GPE is required as SDL is supported under opie (my prefered environment)  I'll play around with it and see what happens.

Jason