Author Topic: Zwave help need, Hari:)  (Read 1752 times)

ivanp

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 94
    • View Profile
Zwave help need, Hari:)
« on: July 17, 2009, 04:53:57 pm »
I recently bought Aeon Labs Z-Stick and  Everspring SP103 motion detector. I paired them by the manual and after inserting Aeon USB to my core, Sarah wizard comes up. It says i  need to download paired devices from master controller, but i click Cancel i dont want to do it now. Sarah finds my motion detector, asks me in which room is it, and then asks me how should it call it. After i type in the name, i dont have any NExt, OK, or Continue button, just Clear which reffers on cleraing the name of detector. Any help is appreciated since i am so near to connect my Motion detector and D-Link IP camera. Thanks in advance.

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2420
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: Zwave help need, Hari:)
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2009, 05:59:15 pm »
hmm, i never used the wizard, i'm doing those assignements in the web admin..

tschak was reporting a problem with the wizard and PIR recently. There is a trac ticket open.

br, Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

ivanp

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 94
    • View Profile
Re: Zwave help need, Hari:)
« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2009, 07:46:29 pm »
How did You added them using Web admin? Did You first add devices in web admin and then attached them to the Core?
After "completing" the wizard i can see Zwave controller as interface in my Devices list in web admin. Under it i have 2 child devices, 1 is security and one is climate (dont know where did that come from). But i dont see motion detector under Security, so i cant pair it with Surveilince camera.

valent

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 380
    • View Profile
    • /kernel_reloaded/
Re: Zwave help need, Hari:)
« Reply #3 on: July 06, 2010, 10:27:43 pm »
I'm stuck at the same position, with same Everspring SP103 Z-Wave motion sensor [1]

I tried using the wizard, but it says that "something is wrong" then when I tried again I got a message saying that security panel module has already been added for further setup to use web admin.

This is how I tried to connect SP103 [1] to LinuxMCE
1. unplugged zwave master controller [2]
2. took  zwave master controller [2] close to SP103 [1]
3. picked up SP103 so that tamper button is triggered
4. put down SP103
5. plugged zwave usb back into Core
6. tried using wizard
7. after wizard failed tried using wab admin

Where exactly do I need to add and where?

I added new security device with motion sensor template, but not sure if it is now connected to the system and how to test it.
Here is how it currently looks in web admin: http://bayimg.com/kANFaAACi

Any further suggestions?

[1] http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Everspring_SP103
[2] http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Aeon_Labs_Z-Wave_Interface_with_built-In_Inclusion_Remote
LinuxMCE - If it was easy, everybody would be doing it!!
My setup - http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Valent

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2420
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: Zwave help need, Hari:)
« Reply #4 on: July 06, 2010, 11:12:25 pm »
your port/channel number is empty? Why that? Did you remove the value?

The association can be done from the web admin (command for the Z-Wave interface device).

br Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

valent

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 380
    • View Profile
    • /kernel_reloaded/
Re: Zwave help need, Hari:)
« Reply #5 on: July 06, 2010, 11:56:37 pm »
I just added an empty template, I need to re-read ZWave WIKI page, I'm still learning about ZWave and how it works. First two Zwave devices I have were added via USB Inclusion Remote. That was much easier, just add devices to usb remote and then plug it back in to Core.

I see the info on the wiki but it is too direct, maybe I'm missing some info or WIKI just isn't clear enough. So if you have any further info it would be much appreciated, and I'll add all additional info back to WIKI.
LinuxMCE - If it was easy, everybody would be doing it!!
My setup - http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Valent

ivanp

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 94
    • View Profile
Re: Zwave help need, Hari:)
« Reply #6 on: July 07, 2010, 12:02:43 am »
I can also confirm the eaxact same behaviour.
I did exactly as You Hari, and ended up like Valents screenshot. I would suspect the HW itself, just dont know how to test it.
MAybe to try in that direction?

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2420
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: Zwave help need, Hari:)
« Reply #7 on: July 07, 2010, 12:47:51 am »
the Z-wave device handles it childs automatically. You should not add/delete childs yourself. When you've included the sensor into your z-wave network, LMCE will detect it and create the proper child. Quick reload the router and then set the association as described in the device manual of the sensor. Usually you want to associate the node id of the dongle attached to LMCE into group 1 of the sensor device.

br Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

valent

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 380
    • View Profile
    • /kernel_reloaded/
Re: Zwave help need, Hari:)
« Reply #8 on: July 07, 2010, 06:39:40 pm »
Manual is pretty clear:

"Adding to Z-WAVE Network:
                             
In the rear casing, there is a tamper switch which is used to carry out inclusion,
exclusion or association. Put a Z-WAVE Wireless Controller into
inclusion/exclusion mode, press the tamper switch on the detector to complete the
inclusion/exclusion process. (FIGURE 1) The Motion Detector will stay “awake” for
ten minutes when changing the status of tamper switch from being pressed to be
released or from being released to be pressed to allow time for configuration."

OK, so to sum it up:

Step 1: Enable discovery on ZWave motion detector
 - I have done that by releasing tamper button.

Step 2: Associate ZWave motion detector via Web admin
 - Do I do that as other ZWave devices by unplugging USB and pressing the inclusion button on it? I tried that but I don't see LED on USB turning on for 1 second as it did when I added other devices.
 - Do I associate motion detector when USB is plugged in Core? What command do I send? I tried few commands but all of them ask for some input parameters, how do I know what to enter in input boxes?

Set association: http://bayimg.com/KAnmDaAci
Add node: http://bayimg.com/kaNmEaaCi

I saw few other motion detector pages but none of them says how exactly association should work. Any help is more than welcome.
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/ACT_Homepro_Motion_Detector

And other wiki pages say that child node needs to be created manually: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Express_Controls_EZmotion ?!?
LinuxMCE - If it was easy, everybody would be doing it!!
My setup - http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Valent

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2420
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: Zwave help need, Hari:)
« Reply #9 on: July 07, 2010, 07:22:39 pm »
Step 1: Enable discovery on ZWave motion detector
 - I have done that by releasing tamper button.
you need to first start the inclusion mode on your Aon Labs dongle with the button

Quote
Step 2: Associate ZWave motion detector via Web admin
 - Do I do that as other ZWave devices by unplugging USB and pressing the inclusion button on it? I tried that but I don't see LED on USB turning on for 1 second as it did when I added other devices.
you are mixing addition and association, that are two different things

Quote
- Do I associate motion detector when USB is plugged in Core? What command do I send? I tried few commands but all of them ask for some input parameters, how do I know what to enter in input boxes?

- this is the device you want to configure, read out the port channel value from your sensor:
#239 NodeID (int) = Z-Wave node ID which associates some nodes in its group.

- this can be found in the manual of your sensor, probably "1":
# 249 Group ID (int) = The group number which includes the associated nodes.

- this is where it should send events to (the target nodes of your associaton group), proably one (when using the Aeon labs dongle):
# 250 Nodes List (string)    or your node id (when using the Aeon labs dongle)

Quote
And other wiki pages say that child node needs to be created manually: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Express_Controls_EZmotion ?!?
this is a different device, the instruction refers to multi instance child devices.

br Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

valent

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 380
    • View Profile
    • /kernel_reloaded/
Re: Zwave help need, Hari:)
« Reply #10 on: July 08, 2010, 08:28:25 am »
Thanks Hari, I'll try it this way. Is there any book that would explain all about ZWave in detail? I looked at amazon but didn't find any book about ZWave.
LinuxMCE - If it was easy, everybody would be doing it!!
My setup - http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Valent

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2420
    • View Profile
    • ago control
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

valent

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 380
    • View Profile
    • /kernel_reloaded/
Re: Zwave help need, Hari:)
« Reply #12 on: July 29, 2010, 11:59:09 pm »
Hari please correct me if I'm wrong, but here is what I got so far:

http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Everspring_SP103#Setup

Setup

In a nutshell

Step 1: Addition/Inclusion of motion sensor to ZWave network
Step 2: Association of motion sensor via LinuxMCE WebUI

Addition/Inclusion

1. Remove batteries from motion sensor
2. Unplug USB ZWave controller from Core
3. Put ZWave controller into inclusion mode
4. Complete inclusion process by inserting batteries in motion sensor
5. Plug ZWave controller back to LinuxMCE Core

Association

1. Collect data from your ZWave controler needed for association
1.1. Advanced -> Configuration -> Devices
1.2. In left windows scroll down to ZWave and click on ZWave Controller
1.3. Read Port/Channel Number, in my case "1"
2. Associate Motion sensor
2.1. Wizard -> Devices -> Interfaces
2.2. Click Advanced button for ZWave device with Device Template #: 1754
2.3. Click Send command to device
2.4. Select Set Association" from drop down menu
LinuxMCE - If it was easy, everybody would be doing it!!
My setup - http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Valent