Author Topic: Development: Supporting Gyration Media Center Remotes  (Read 9682 times)

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5495
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Development: Supporting Gyration Media Center Remotes
« Reply #15 on: May 26, 2009, 09:20:20 pm »
Yes, I am working on the code now that I have free time.

As soon as I have it working, I'll post in. I've learned everything I need to learn for this, so I've been quiet. Now it's just clerical work to bang it out, and figuring out where to spawn the threads inside Orbiter.

-Thom

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: Development: Supporting Gyration Media Center Remotes
« Reply #16 on: May 27, 2009, 12:47:40 am »
Thom

Does that mean, then, that you also know what is needed to get the Fiire remote working under the new kernel HID handler instead of libusb? I am presuming that the Gryation remote needs to interface in the same way, or am I missing something there? (you know I really just want to upgrade to 0810 :) )

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5495
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Development: Supporting Gyration Media Center Remotes
« Reply #17 on: May 27, 2009, 12:55:37 am »
I've said this before, and I won't mention it again.

The Fiire Remote is a SPECIAL CASE and must be handled by a totally different routine.

I will get to it, when I get to it. I promise.

-Thom

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2420
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: Development: Supporting Gyration Media Center Remotes
« Reply #18 on: May 27, 2009, 12:13:41 pm »
I'd love to not see any HID related code in orbiter... it is so fat already :-P
* hari runs
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5495
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Development: Supporting Gyration Media Center Remotes
« Reply #19 on: May 27, 2009, 04:29:02 pm »
Trust me, I wouldn't either. But there are many remote buttons that do not have DCE commands to directly map to, that have direct meaning in Orbiter itself. I have to have access to Orbiter's event queue.

-Thom

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2420
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: Development: Supporting Gyration Media Center Remotes
« Reply #20 on: May 27, 2009, 05:20:29 pm »
and what prevents us from adding the proper events?

br, Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5495
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Development: Supporting Gyration Media Center Remotes
« Reply #21 on: May 27, 2009, 07:01:26 pm »
anything is possible, i'm just telling you what i have to do now to make this work. :)

-Thom

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5495
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Development: Supporting Gyration Media Center Remotes
« Reply #22 on: June 27, 2009, 09:14:32 pm »
Well guys, it was a long road. But I just committed the Generic HID Handler to SVN, and the matching Gyration 3101 changes to sqlcvs.

This is a first pass, all the buttons work. I want to add support for holding down the mouse buttons to trigger the media and lights submenus, but that will come during the beta testing.

Thank you all for contributing, the feature is complete enough for testing for those of you who have 0810 installs.

There will not be an update for 0710.

-Thom

kyfalcon

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
    • View Profile
Re: Development: Supporting Gyration Media Center Remotes
« Reply #23 on: August 24, 2009, 05:07:40 pm »
Thom,

I noticed that the up and down arrow buttons don't seem to work correctly for me. If I go to audio or video and then try to use them to scroll up or down they end up causing the list to jump to a particular artist or movie. Do I need to reset my remote somehow or somehow update its firmware. Does anybody else see this problem. Everything else works great! Appreciate the hard work!

fido

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Re: Development: Supporting Gyration Media Center Remotes
« Reply #24 on: August 24, 2009, 05:46:30 pm »
on a similar note, on my latest version the remote doesnt seem to function much.

For example the pause / play / rew / ff keys dont work at all when playing DVDs

The forward, rewind buttons when clicked bring up Thoms new overlay that allows you to mute or play/pause the movie.

Then while watching a ripped movie, the play/pause buttons dont work but the FF and RW buttons do....

Anyone else encountering this behaviour ?

I am pretty sure the remote worked a lot better on a previous build.....

WhateverFits

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 228
    • View Profile
    • Sean Walker
Re: Development: Supporting Gyration Media Center Remotes
« Reply #25 on: August 26, 2009, 01:11:46 am »
fido, have you done apt-get update, apt-get dist-upgrade on the media director? Just curious if that has been done or if it fixed your problem.

fido

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Re: Development: Supporting Gyration Media Center Remotes
« Reply #26 on: August 26, 2009, 03:34:30 pm »
yeah, it was a clean install built from source...so all was up to date....

I have a drive with my previous build on it, so will probably add it back in and see how it compares....

stallione

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 59
    • View Profile
Re: Development: Supporting Gyration Media Center Remotes
« Reply #27 on: August 30, 2009, 05:08:49 am »
Thom is aware of this issue and will hopefully have the arrow keys working properly by the next build.

Viking

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 521
    • View Profile
Re: Development: Supporting Gyration Media Center Remotes
« Reply #28 on: August 31, 2009, 09:44:22 pm »
Hi,

I have finally also got hands on one of theese - very nice indeed :)

But how can I get the Fastforward/rewind rose up ?
# and * both gives me the Lightning rose ...

And secondly - it would be nice if there could be a button or linuxmce menu selection (after pressing the green windows key) for the MythTV "Menu key". As it is needed for changing audio or if the 16:9 description of the channel/program is not right and one has to change that manual. Even better would be the zoom menu that LinuxMCE has ;)

Did I descrbe that clearly enough ?

Greetings
Viking

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5495
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Development: Supporting Gyration Media Center Remotes
« Reply #29 on: August 31, 2009, 09:47:16 pm »
this has been fixed in recent builds, tap the top left [>] button next to the left arrow to get the media gyro menu. There is no button for the light/vol atm.

-Thom