Author Topic: KDE/LMCE menu bar.  (Read 1181 times)

pigdog

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1008
    • View Profile
KDE/LMCE menu bar.
« on: April 11, 2009, 03:35:29 pm »
After 10 minutes of inactivity on LMCE the main menu bar goes to sleep.

Flickr runs in the background.

The menu bar can be retrieved.

However, if you are on KDE desktop during the timeout and return to OrbiterGL no LMCE menu bar can be retrieved.

The KDE task bar is presented on workspace 5.

Cheers.

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4462
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: KDE/LinuxMCE menu bar.
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2009, 04:37:04 pm »
After 10 minutes of inactivity on LinuxMCE the main menu bar goes to sleep.

Flickr runs in the background.

The menu bar can be retrieved.

However, if you are on KDE desktop during the timeout and return to OrbiterGL no LinuxMCE menu bar can be retrieved.

The KDE task bar is presented on workspace 5.

Cheers.

Just use F7 on a keyboard or the Green button on an MCE remote to re-display the menu bar.

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

pigdog

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1008
    • View Profile
Re: KDE/LinuxMCE menu bar.
« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2009, 05:54:39 pm »
Hi,

Sorry totallymaxed.

Once the 10 minutes has expired I can only get to the Flicker screensaver from KDE desktop by selecting workspace 5.

Selecting OrbiterGL from the KDE taskbar goes nowhere.

All I can retrieve is <CTRL/ALT> F1 and F8.

F7 does nothing.

Doing <CTRL/ALT> F7 from KDE desktop after timer expiry does nothing.

All I can retrieve is <CTRL/ALT> F1 and F8.

Cheers.

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5501
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: KDE/LinuxMCE menu bar.
« Reply #3 on: April 11, 2009, 07:39:40 pm »
Under 0810 you can reactivate orbiter by sending an Activate Orbiter message, with the value set to 0.

This can be done from the web admin, by selecting the Onscreen Orbiter from the advanced > devices page. and clicking send command, clicking Activate Orbiter from the commands pull-down, and clicking send.

You can also send it with the following command.

Code: [Select]
#!/bin/sh
/usr/pluto/bin/MessageSend localhost 0 20 1 912 119 "1"

This will not be needed once a full UI to the launch manager is available.

-Thom

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3014
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: KDE/LinuxMCE menu bar.
« Reply #4 on: April 11, 2009, 08:41:23 pm »
tschak909,

shouldn't we just setup a small link on the Kubuntu Desktop that executes the messagesend you pointed out?

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5501
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: KDE/LinuxMCE menu bar.
« Reply #5 on: April 11, 2009, 08:47:04 pm »
That only works on the core.

When Jondecker76 finishes the socket layer and it works, I will send the message to it instead, so that it gets the correct on-screen orbiter.

I think this would be best implemented as a plasmoid. I have some code here, but it needs the last bit from jondecker76 to be useful.

-Thom

pigdog

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1008
    • View Profile
Re: KDE/LinuxMCE menu bar.
« Reply #6 on: April 11, 2009, 08:53:56 pm »
Thanks tschak909,

I'm able to activate orbiter.

Cheers.