Author Topic: WebDT 366 encryption  (Read 2161 times)

pga57

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 132
    • View Profile
WebDT 366 encryption
« on: January 10, 2009, 11:21:00 am »
Hello,

I'm playing with my WebDT 366 (group by Europe) I've received yesterday.
Without wifi encrytion, it work well.
But I have no sucess with 128bit WEP encryption.
I've test a lot of hexdecimal key format but have no result (AA:BB:CC:..., AABBCC..., aa:bb:cc:..., aabbcc..., aa-bb-cc...,AA-BB-CC..., etc...).
I suppose something is wrong but don't find the solution.
Do you have better result ?

Philippe

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5476
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: WebDT 366 encryption
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2009, 04:39:11 pm »
the key format is simply lower case:

aabbccddeeff11223344.....

I use key 1 from any set.

-Thom

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: WebDT 366 encryption
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2009, 05:21:50 pm »
Maybe an idea to update the WebDT 366 wiki page?

And thanks a lot to everyone involved (unfortunately I haven't been able to try mine yet as I'm away from home at the moment :-[).
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


pga57

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 132
    • View Profile
Re: WebDT 366 encryption
« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2009, 11:27:33 am »
Humm...
I have no success with simply lower case key format Thom :-(
Does the system image used by Tim the lastest ?

Very strange...

Philippe

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5476
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: WebDT 366 encryption
« Reply #4 on: January 11, 2009, 02:53:09 pm »
yes,

If you need to, attach a usb keyboard.

Then, when booting up orbiter, when you see the progress bar for it loading, hit control-c t to get a terminal.

you can then sudo -i
root password is root.

-Thom

patmankn

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 88
    • View Profile
Re: WebDT 366 encryption
« Reply #5 on: February 01, 2009, 10:45:55 pm »
hi there,

same thing happened to me two days ago.
It used to work like a charme, WEP encryption on Tschaks gamma release.
Then i tried my 3Com wlan card to try it with WPA. As that didn't worked out for me,
i tried to go back to WEP... than. Nothing. Now i have to disable WEP encryption to get my
dear Webpad Orbiter to work.
I did even delete the orbiter on my LMCE, reflashed the gamme release, no success.

Does anyone experienced the same ... and got it working?

Thx..

Pat
Hybrid: MSI MS-7329,Nvidia 6150 onboard,AMD BE-2400,2gb RAM,Sharp Aqous LE 37X20E via MD Zotoc Ion Synergy,Terratec 1200 & Cinergy DT USB Diversity DVB-T, KNC ONE TV-Station DVB-C,WebDT366,Fiire Chief http://wiki.linuxmce.com/index.php/User:Patmankn

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5476
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: WebDT 366 encryption
« Reply #6 on: February 01, 2009, 10:54:04 pm »
connect a usb keyboard to the pad
and tap the network reconfigure button.

You can then hit control-c-t to get a terminal.

-Thom

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2420
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: WebDT 366 encryption
« Reply #7 on: February 01, 2009, 11:04:53 pm »
it works fine with wpa and a netgear card here..
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: WebDT 366 encryption
« Reply #8 on: February 01, 2009, 11:49:26 pm »
When you choose WEP, try setting the System to Open rather than Shared Key... I had to do this from the start with mine.

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5476
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: WebDT 366 encryption
« Reply #9 on: February 01, 2009, 11:55:57 pm »
I don't set open or shared key at all with wep in TabletCFG, as typically wep systems are configured for open.

-Thom

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2420
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: WebDT 366 encryption
« Reply #10 on: February 02, 2009, 12:03:28 am »
and open is the saner choice for WEP. If any WEP based encryption can be called sane :-)

br, Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

pga57

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 132
    • View Profile
Re: WebDT 366 encryption
« Reply #11 on: February 02, 2009, 06:36:23 am »
Like patmankn, I have no success with WEP.
I have put a 3com 3CRWE154G72 card but, it is not reconized (I suppose it' a kernel problem).

What model of netgear card do you use Hari ?

 
Philippe

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2420
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: WebDT 366 encryption
« Reply #12 on: February 02, 2009, 11:04:22 am »
unfortunately i got the china variant of the Netgear WG511 v2 (yeah, the v2 comes in different chip flavors - bastards). So had to compile the ndiswrapper module in a debian-sid chroot...

br, Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

schaferj

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 133
    • View Profile
Re: WebDT 366 encryption
« Reply #13 on: March 07, 2009, 08:35:13 am »
Thom,

The webpad orbiter is "totally wicked"!  Thank you.

I also had trouble with the wep and ended up just using the even-more-flimsy mac filtering as a stopgap. 

Anyone got wpa working on the Cisco Aironet?

thanks,
joseph


tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5476
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: WebDT 366 encryption
« Reply #14 on: March 07, 2009, 09:09:38 am »
in short, it's messy. You'd be better just replacing the card.

-Thom