Author Topic: LMCE Controlling my Reciever Volume  (Read 1987 times)

Techstyle

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 674
    • View Profile
    • Techstyle UK Ltd.
LMCE Controlling my Reciever Volume
« on: August 19, 2008, 09:52:44 pm »
I have my reciever (Pioneer VSX-410) set up to be controlled by IR.  I am pretty sure the codes are correct because I can go to the 'resend codes' menu and advanced,  pick any code and get the reciever to do wat is asked.

When I use the vol up, vol down and mute, because I have the Audio pipe set from the PC to the reciever and the audio set to digital out (pass through)  I thought LMCE would control my reciever sound but I cannot see any commands being sent.

I am wrong to think this?  I there something I need to do to control the reciever vol with the Win MCE remote?

Techstyle

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 674
    • View Profile
    • Techstyle UK Ltd.
Re: LMCE Controlling my Reciever Volume
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2008, 11:13:34 pm »
The ambience control also does not control my reciever

So none of the volume commands (at least that I can find) control the receiver

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: LMCE Controlling my Reciever Volume
« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2008, 12:22:56 am »
It should - you have installed the receiver as a child of the ir device in the admin page, and it in turn is a child of the core/hybrid or MD in question?

Check your dcerouter.log to see if you can see the commands being generated and directed to the pipe and devices.

Also check that the GSD device for your receiver is successfully starting at reload.

Techstyle

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 674
    • View Profile
    • Techstyle UK Ltd.
Re: LMCE Controlling my Reciever Volume
« Reply #3 on: August 22, 2008, 05:39:17 pm »
I think it is set up correctly as a Child See the device tree there is a plus button on 'mce usb2' -> 'LIRC Embedded transmit' -> VSX-411

As for DCErouter.log I couldn't find anything in there relaated.  I did find a log relating to LIRC:

Quote
== ATTEMPT FRESH START ==
1       08/21/08 19:49:14       /usr/pluto/bin/Spawn_Device.sh 27 (spawning-device)     22672 Dev: 27; Already Running list: 15,16,17,18,30,31,59,64,116,110,20,26,21,25,34,114,
== FRESH START ==
1       08/21/08 19:49:14       /usr/pluto/bin/Spawn_Device.sh 27 (spawning-device)     device: 27 ip: localhost cmd_line: LIRC_DCE
0       08/21/08 19:49:14       27 (spawning-device)    Entering 27
========== NEW LOG SECTION ==========
1       08/21/08 19:49:14       27 (spawning-device)    Starting... 1
1       08/21/08 19:49:14       27 (spawning-device)    Found /usr/pluto/bin/LIRC_DCE
05      08/21/08 19:49:14.923           Creating Leeching Thread for 1 remotes <0x2b3eb9e44910>
05      08/21/08 19:49:14.926           Creating child 28 <0x2b3eb9e44910>
05      08/21/08 19:49:14.926           Note: Device manager has attached a device of type 1911 that this has no custom event handler for.  It will not fire events. <0x2b3eb9e44910>
05      08/21/08 19:49:14.926           Note: Device manager has attached a device of type 1911 that this has no custom handler for.  This is normal for IR. <0x2b3eb9e44910>
05      08/21/08 19:49:14.926           Creating child 60 <0x2b3eb9e44910>
05      08/21/08 19:49:14.926           Note: Device manager has attached a device of type 1932 that this has no custom event handler for.  It will not fire events. <0x2b3eb9e44910>
/var/log/pluto/27_LIRC_DCE.log.1   
         

Device 60 is the VSX411, Device 28 is the LIRC Embedded transmit

Does this shed any light on my problem?


colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: LMCE Controlling my Reciever Volume
« Reply #4 on: August 22, 2008, 10:53:12 pm »
Sorry was getting carried away on the GSD. Its controlled by IR so the actual amp will not be a GSD device.

So what is device 28? You need to find the main controlling device, then look for that in the dcerouter log. This is where you will see commands being triggered down pipes, and therefore hitting the various devices on that pipe.

Confirm that is happening first. Once you can see the command reaching the right device, then you can look in that device's log to see if there were any problems executing it.

Techstyle

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 674
    • View Profile
    • Techstyle UK Ltd.
Re: LMCE Controlling my Reciever Volume
« Reply #5 on: August 31, 2008, 01:27:45 pm »
Sorry have been away

Device 28 is the LIRC Embedded Transmit

I have tried looking in the logs in the launch manager but cannot find any commands associated with pipes or these devices.  Can you tell me exactly were these would be, I am not very used to Linux yet.

I know that if I hit the 'resend AV codes' button when playing media the screen tells me that my reciever and tv are in use.  if I then hit the Advanced button for the reciever I get a list of functions that my reciever can do.  if I click on these functions I can see the IR blaster LED light up and the Reciever does what was asked of it.

rodercot

  • Guest
Re: LMCE Controlling my Reciever Volume
« Reply #6 on: August 31, 2008, 04:03:39 pm »
Techstyle,

 Are you trying to do this with a MCE_usb2 device? If so forget it and get a USBUirt, I spent a multitude of hours trying to make the MCE_usb2 transmit for the md in master bedroom with no luck although many say it is supported and some have it working, I have seem more cases of it not working than actually working.

 Dave

Techstyle

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 674
    • View Profile
    • Techstyle UK Ltd.
Re: LMCE Controlling my Reciever Volume
« Reply #7 on: September 01, 2008, 12:46:50 am »
Dave, thanks for your reply

Were you able to get the MCE_usb2 to control the reciever at all or just automatically?  what I am trying to ask is when yours wasn't working did it work if you commanded using the AV controls like mine does?

mine is the MCE_usb2

Jason

rodercot

  • Guest
Re: LMCE Controlling my Reciever Volume
« Reply #8 on: September 02, 2008, 03:09:03 pm »
Jason,

 Sorry for the late replay. My forum access is acting up on my M$ workstation for some reason anyhow this is on my 8.04 workstation.

 Yes the MCE_usb2 works just fine sending a command while testing it from the a/v properties pages but will not work when you want to use it under normal use. So Like I said make your life easier and get a USB_Uirt.

 Dave