Author Topic: GC-100 added, but no IR/Com Ports?  (Read 8488 times)

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
GC-100 added, but no IR/Com Ports?
« on: December 28, 2005, 05:38:14 pm »
Hi.

I just installed my first GC100-12 and I really could enjoy the first time a plug an play installation (wasnt very playful up to now)...

I am missing the 2 coms and the IR ports. Tried to add a device according to the instructions via Interfaces/AV. But every time I add one, it never shows up afterwards.
When I go to the GC-100 device, it only shows the Generic Relay.

Many thanks for an advice.

Regards

Danny

PS: The log

Code: newbielink:javascript:void(0); [nonactive]

10 12/27/05 23:56:42.635 Device: 26 starting.  Connecting to: localhost
10 12/27/05 23:56:42.727 TranslateSerialUSB 0 isn't serial usb
10 12/27/05 23:56:42.727 Connecting to gc100: 192.168.80.3
10 12/27/05 23:56:42.733 GC100 socket connect OK
10 12/27/05 23:56:42.734 Connect OK
10 12/27/05 23:56:42.734 Got CreateEvent for unknown type 1760.
05 12/27/05 23:56:42.734 Note: Device manager has attached a device of type 1760 that this has no custom event handler for.  It will not fire events.
10 12/27/05 23:56:42.734 Got CreateCommand for unknown type 1760.
05 12/27/05 23:56:42.734 Note: Device manager has attached a device of type 1760 that this has no custom handler for.  This is normal for IR.
10 12/27/05 23:56:42.734 Sending command getdevices

10 12/27/05 23:56:42.734 Requesthandler 0x807c5d8 (device: 26) runThread now running
10 12/27/05 23:56:42.734 In IRBase::ParseDevices
10 12/27/05 23:56:42.734 Requested IR cored for device: 27
10 12/27/05 23:56:42.833 Reply received from GC100: device,1,1 SERIAL
10 12/27/05 23:56:42.833 Entering default value for type SERIAL
10 12/27/05 23:56:42.833 The next slot for this type should be 1
10 12/27/05 23:56:42.833 Created new module: mod=1 slot=1 type=SERIAL key=1:1 global=1
10 12/27/05 23:56:42.833 Reply received from GC100: device,2,1 SERIAL
10 12/27/05 23:56:42.833 The next slot for this type should be 2
10 12/27/05 23:56:42.833 Created new module: mod=2 slot=1 type=SERIAL key=2:1 global=2
10 12/27/05 23:56:42.833 Reply received from GC100: device,3,3 RELAY
10 12/27/05 23:56:42.833 Entering default value for type RELAY
10 12/27/05 23:56:42.833 The next slot for this type should be 1
10 12/27/05 23:56:42.833 Created new module: mod=3 slot=1 type=RELAY key=3:1 global=1
10 12/27/05 23:56:42.833 Created new module: mod=3 slot=2 type=RELAY key=3:2 global=2
10 12/27/05 23:56:42.833 Created new module: mod=3 slot=3 type=RELAY key=3:3 global=3
10 12/27/05 23:56:42.833 Reply received from GC100: device,4,3 IR
10 12/27/05 23:56:42.834 Entering default value for type IR
10 12/27/05 23:56:42.834 The next slot for this type should be 1
10 12/27/05 23:56:42.834 Created new module: mod=4 slot=1 type=IR key=4:1 global=1
10 12/27/05 23:56:42.834 Sending command getstate,4:1

10 12/27/05 23:56:42.849 IR Code count: 0
10 12/27/05 23:56:42.933 Created new module: mod=4 slot=2 type=IR key=4:2 global=2
10 12/27/05 23:56:42.933 Sending command getstate,4:2

10 12/27/05 23:56:43.033 Created new module: mod=4 slot=3 type=IR key=4:3 global=3
10 12/27/05 23:56:43.033 Sending command getstate,4:3

10 12/27/05 23:56:43.133 Reply received from GC100: device,5,3 IR
10 12/27/05 23:56:43.133 The next slot for this type should be 4
10 12/27/05 23:56:43.133 Created new module: mod=5 slot=1 type=IR key=5:1 global=4
10 12/27/05 23:56:43.133 Sending command getstate,5:1

10 12/27/05 23:56:43.233 Created new module: mod=5 slot=2 type=IR key=5:2 global=5
10 12/27/05 23:56:43.233 Sending command getstate,5:2

10 12/27/05 23:56:43.333 Created new module: mod=5 slot=3 type=IR key=5:3 global=6
10 12/27/05 23:56:43.333 Sending command getstate,5:3

10 12/27/05 23:56:43.433 Reply received from GC100: endlistdevices
10 12/27/05 23:56:43.433 seriald cmd: /usr/pluto/bin/gc100-serial-bridge.sh 192.168.80.3 4999 /dev/ttyS_26_0 &
10 12/27/05 23:56:43.437 seriald cmd: /usr/pluto/bin/gc100-serial-bridge.sh 192.168.80.3 5000 /dev/ttyS_26_1 &
10 12/27/05 23:56:44.497 EventThread
10 12/27/05 23:56:44.497 Reply received from GC100: unknowncommand 13
10 12/27/05 23:56:44.549 EventThread
10 12/27/05 23:56:44.549 Reply received from GC100: unknowncommand 13
10 12/27/05 23:56:44.601 EventThread
10 12/27/05 23:56:44.601 Reply received from GC100: unknowncommand 13
10 12/27/05 23:56:44.653 EventThread
10 12/27/05 23:56:44.653 Reply received from GC100: unknowncommand 13
10 12/27/05 23:56:44.705 EventThread
10 12/27/05 23:56:44.705 Reply received from GC100: unknowncommand 13
10 12/27/05 23:56:44.757 EventThread
10 12/27/05 23:56:44.757 Reply received from GC100: unknowncommand 13
10 12/27/05 23:56:44.809 EventThread

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
GC-100 added, but no IR/Com Ports?
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2006, 12:01:02 am »
Nobody have mercy with me? :-(

Danny

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
GC-100 added, but no IR/Com Ports?
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2006, 02:18:09 pm »
Quote from: "danimal"
Nobody have mercy with me? :-(

Danny

I have but unfortuneately I can't help you. I guess we're all waiting for CES madness to go by (Pluto guys were really busy for last month) and then hopefully more colaboration will take place....

HTH,

regards,

Rob.

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
GC-100 added, but no IR/Com Ports?
« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2006, 11:51:52 am »
i confirm that the problem is real but isn't solved yet, hopefully with next release.

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
GC-100 added, but no IR/Com Ports?
« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2006, 11:59:24 pm »
Great to hear. There is life in this forum. Thanks guys. I gonna wait then.

Cheers
Danny

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
GC-100 added, but no IR/Com Ports?
« Reply #5 on: January 18, 2006, 09:12:23 pm »
Has this problem now fixed with .35? Have nothing found in the changelog.

Regards
Danny

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
GC-100 added, but no IR/Com Ports?
« Reply #6 on: January 19, 2006, 08:50:49 am »
no, gc100 isn't working in 2.0.0.35 either.

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
GC-100 added, but no IR/Com Ports?
« Reply #7 on: January 21, 2006, 01:30:22 pm »
Sad, but thanks for confirming my experience.

Any idea when? That GC100 been mentionned so much in the docs...

Regards
Danny

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
GC-100 added, but no IR/Com Ports?
« Reply #8 on: February 09, 2006, 07:27:33 pm »
Quote from: "dan.g"
no, gc100 isn't working in 2.0.0.35 either.


I had 2.0.0.35 installed and the gc100 was working just fine, now I have upgraded to 2.0.0.36 and the gc100 is no longer working. I can find the device and send commands to it, but for some reason when I am setting up an inferred device and I use the help me chose option next to the pronto code set I get an error when I send a command. The error says something to the effect of "command not sent empty string". Should I just try reinstalling the core? This isn’t a big problem for me as I haven’t set up very many devices. Or maybe I should just go back to 2.0.0.35?

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
GC-100 added, but no IR/Com Ports?
« Reply #9 on: February 10, 2006, 12:33:41 pm »
I worked on the gc100 code some time ago, but it's been almost frozen since then and only minor fixes and patches were made to it.

The device has a "relays" child in the device tree, but no "serial ports" or "IR ports" children.

Regarding the serial ports, this is how it works: the gc100 code launches two gc100-serial-bridge processes that relate the gc100 ports to /dev entries using socat and pty mechanisms. For a gc100-12, you would then get /dev/ttyS_<devnumber>_0 and /dev/ttyS_<devnumber>_1, where devnumber is the device ID of the gc100 in the Pluto database. After they are started, the Core's DeviceData is also updated to show these serial ports too so devices that have "Serial Port" drop down boxes can display the gc100 ports too.

The infrared ports are used in a similar fashion, but in a more barbaric way (i.e. no drop down). The device that should receive a IR code (the TV for instance) should be in the device tree (not sure if as a child of gc100 or not) and the IR port that the sensors commanding it are connected to should be written in it's "Port" (I think) Device Data field.

As for the "empty string" thing, check your IR codes pages and confirm they're all right and nothing was erased from there.

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
GC-100 added, but no IR/Com Ports?
« Reply #10 on: February 10, 2006, 12:35:37 pm »
What was broken in 2.0.0.35 regarding gc100 was the allocating of an IP, but it was fixed in 2.0.0.36. Now you can "add a gc100" and the IP will get allocated and the gc100 will get configured (just make sure you reset it to factory defaults before you attempt to add it).