Author Topic: diskless booting through grub  (Read 1361 times)

jonsnipes

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
diskless booting through grub
« on: January 08, 2008, 06:14:18 pm »
i came across somewhere that it is possible to set grub up to diskless boot... does anyone have any experience doing so with lmce?  it would save me harddrive space on computers that i want acting as md...  thanks
-Jon

ddamron

  • Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *
  • Posts: 962
    • View Profile
    • My LinuxMCE User Page
Re: diskless booting through grub
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2008, 06:27:07 pm »
http://rom-o-matic.net/

That will allow you to make a boot disk, even on floppy... to pxe boot..
The only intuitive interface is the nipple.  After that it's all learned.
My other computer is your windows box.
I'm out of my mind.  Back in 5 minutes.
Q:  What's Red and smells like blue paint?

A:  Red Paint.

jonsnipes

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
Re: diskless booting through grub
« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2008, 07:17:19 pm »
then what do i do wit that disk image??  how do i tell grub to boot from that?  is that  grub only booted when the disk is in the drive?  is there a way to make it constant on an existing grub setup??
-Jon

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: diskless booting through grub
« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2008, 07:36:09 pm »
Another way is with a special version of GRUB, as described in the wiki: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/GRUB_PXE
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


jonsnipes

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
Re: diskless booting through grub
« Reply #4 on: January 08, 2008, 08:15:39 pm »
exaccly what i was looking for...  thanks
-Jon

ddamron

  • Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *
  • Posts: 962
    • View Profile
    • My LinuxMCE User Page
Re: diskless booting through grub
« Reply #5 on: January 09, 2008, 06:38:07 am »
That ROM o Matic site, creates BOOTABLE images...

You don't need GRUB.

HTH,

Dan
The only intuitive interface is the nipple.  After that it's all learned.
My other computer is your windows box.
I'm out of my mind.  Back in 5 minutes.
Q:  What's Red and smells like blue paint?

A:  Red Paint.