Author Topic: MD Runs extremely slow over Gb etho - Why  (Read 3874 times)

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: MD Runs extremely slow over Gb etho - Why
« Reply #15 on: December 29, 2007, 01:52:48 am »
you can set/verify speed and duplex with ethtool and/or mii-tool. You can watch the error counters with ifconfig.

best regards,
Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

Marper

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 183
    • View Profile
Re: MD Runs extremely slow over Gb etho - Why
« Reply #16 on: December 29, 2007, 09:22:24 pm »
Thanks to everyone for the info and trying to help.  Here is my current status.

1.  Reinstalled Core software (as usuall setup was a breeze)
2.  Re-configured MD

Used all standard settings without changing anything -

Added VOIP with Teliax
Added Rooms and Names

System up and running.

Reboot time for MD = 10 Mins

    Allowed software updates to take place - restarted all systems -

    Core boot time = 3 mins
    MD boot time = 9/10 mins
    Copied files from Core to MD - 100Mb file = 2/3 mins - 1Gb NIC
    Copied files from Core and MD to other connected systems - 3 or so mins - 1Gb NICs
    All logs are clean - no errors

When the MD boots - it takes a long time to get past the OBD Shell - about 4 mins for that to pass

Where do I go from here


Lost - Don't know where to go or what to do

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: MD Runs extremely slow over Gb etho - Why
« Reply #17 on: December 30, 2007, 12:57:40 am »
Marper - sorry I don't have a working system at the moment to work this through, and as I say, networking on Linux is not my comfort zone!

However, I can say that you definitely appear to have a significant network problem from these stats... you are getting less than 5Mbit/s with one large file, so lots of small files don't stand a chance. Given this was a simple file copy, the LMCE doesn't seem to be implicated in any way. It could still be the speed of your systems, but very unlikely as the data rate is SO low, and as totallymaxed pointed out, these processes (booting) are not particularly CPU bound.

Another point is that your file transfer is TCP, but the boot process is UDP, so it is unlikely to be TCP congestion control issues, which eliminates the network stack, leaving us with the NIC drivers and the network itself.

The next "high value" test you should do is bypass the switching and network cables with the cross-over cable direct from NIC-to-NIC (core to MD). They are only a few bucks from your computer store. Do that and try the boot again.... we can go from there...
« Last Edit: December 30, 2007, 12:59:11 am by colinjones »

jeff_rigby

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 46
    • View Profile
Re: MD Runs extremely slow over Gb etho - Why
« Reply #18 on: December 30, 2007, 01:22:59 am »
I can confirm that after the initial install MD's boot in about 2 min on a Gigabit lan.  Not much longer on a 100 megabit lan either but I have noticed some lag for certain screens. (lag= 2-3 seconds)

Marper

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 183
    • View Profile
Re: MD Runs extremely slow over Gb etho - Why
« Reply #19 on: December 30, 2007, 11:14:31 pm »
I'm going to purchase new NIC's for both the Core and MD and I'll re-post my results.

Thanks for all of the support, comments and help.

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: MD Runs extremely slow over Gb etho - Why
« Reply #20 on: December 31, 2007, 12:01:33 am »
If that's what you want to do, but that wasn't the next suggestion I made. If there is a problem with the switch/speed/duplex/NIC drivers then you will have wasted your money on 2 more NICs, plus you will not be any closer to identifying whether it is the driver/configuration or the external network - so you will need to get the cross over cable anyway. Will leave it to you now...

1audio

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 552
    • View Profile
Re: MD Runs extremely slow over Gb etho - Why
« Reply #21 on: December 31, 2007, 12:26:55 am »
NIC's for the MD's are hard to find. They must have internal support (BIOS extensions) for PXE boot. Only a few do. If your hardware is known to work for other people then its either defective hardware (which does happen) or some configuration fault.

If you can run ifconfig on the core and the MD and post the results so we can see how it thinks its configured that would help.

Also make sure you have enough memory in the MD. 512 MB is what you need. And set the video for no more that 128 if you are using integrated graphics. The last time I ran into this type of problem is was a memory issue. Especially on MD's since they swap to the core and use the same pipe as for the content.

And make sure the BIOS is current.

Marper

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 183
    • View Profile
Re: MD Runs extremely slow over Gb etho - Why
« Reply #22 on: December 31, 2007, 06:24:02 am »
Here is the ifconfig from Core:

dcerouter_52637:/home/linuxmce# ifconfig
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:80:AD:80:20:BE
          inet addr:192.168.0.2  Bcast:192.168.0.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::280:adff:fe80:20be/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:54955 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:14841 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:23931626 (22.8 MiB)  TX bytes:1632474 (1.5 MiB)
          Interrupt:16 Base address:0xd400

eth1      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:80:AD:03:5D:02
          inet addr:192.168.80.1  Bcast:192.168.80.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::280:adff:fe03:5d02/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:581892 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:812575 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:172095480 (164.1 MiB)  TX bytes:809557645 (772.0 MiB)
          Interrupt:17 Base address:0xd000

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:22569 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:22569 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:4476468 (4.2 MiB)  TX bytes:4476468 (4.2 MiB)

Marper

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 183
    • View Profile
Re: MD Runs extremely slow over Gb etho - Why
« Reply #23 on: December 31, 2007, 06:26:47 am »
Sorry for the multiple posts, just learning my way around Linux.


This is MD ifconfig:

root@moon29:~# ifconfig
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:11:D8:C4:01:02
          inet addr:192.168.80.2  Bcast:192.168.80.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::211:d8ff:fec4:102/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:389668 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:281477 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:399529691 (381.0 MiB)  TX bytes:78302809 (74.6 MiB)
          Interrupt:20

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:304 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:304 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:24576 (24.0 KiB)  TX bytes:24576 (24.0 KiB)


colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: MD Runs extremely slow over Gb etho - Why
« Reply #24 on: December 31, 2007, 08:02:13 am »
There's nothing obviously wrong in those stats. The core does seem to be transmitting a lot more data than the MD is receiving, and receiving a fair amount as well, but that in itself doesn't highlight much without knowing more about what else is on the LAN.

I will try asking one more time before giving up - have you got the cross over cable? This is a 5min test costing a couple of bucks and will immediately tell you if the issue is on your network or in the PCs.

Marper

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 183
    • View Profile
SOLVED - Re: MD Runs extremely slow over Gb etho - Why
« Reply #25 on: December 31, 2007, 08:18:56 am »
Thanks to you all for helping with this.  1audion, when I returned to the BIOS to check the settings, the Graphics Aperture Size was set to 248.  I changed it to 64 Mb and WOW, the system boots under 2 mins.  Now, that's more like it.

Once again, thanks to you all.

HAPPY NEW YEAR