Author Topic: Java/ J2ME mobile orbiter  (Read 113725 times)

coley

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 474
    • View Profile
Re: Java/ J2ME mobile orbiter
« Reply #135 on: April 29, 2008, 11:35:08 am »
Got round to installing this last night. 710rc1 on core and JavaMO on Nokia N95 - looking good  ;D
I cannot get the UI to fill the screen on the N95. I've selected 320x240 as the size and Symbian as the UI type - I assume this is the restriction as it has a lower resolution in brackets.
What do I need to edit to force the orbiter to be rendered full screen?

Also when regenerating the orbiter from the core the JavaMO runs in to an unhandled exception.
I can recreate this later if logs are required.

-Coley.

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2420
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: Java/ J2ME mobile orbiter
« Reply #136 on: April 29, 2008, 06:35:52 pm »
i'd be interested in the trace from the phone itself. I need to get a mobile with on device debugging for java (e60 features that). The simulator supporting real comms over bluez has problems in other areas.

Regarding the size, i simply chose 240x320 for my n73

best regards,
Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

coley

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 474
    • View Profile
Re: Java/ J2ME mobile orbiter
« Reply #137 on: April 29, 2008, 10:51:24 pm »
d'oh! thanks, specifying the resolution the right way round helps!
The N95 should have ODD but think it needs symbian/carbide dlls on PC side.
Can the jar file be built with extra dbg when it throws an exception?

-Coley.

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2420
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: Java/ J2ME mobile orbiter
« Reply #138 on: April 29, 2008, 11:09:56 pm »
we could show a form with the exception...

you feel like playing a bit with java?

best regards,
Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

coley

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 474
    • View Profile
Re: Java/ J2ME mobile orbiter
« Reply #139 on: April 30, 2008, 12:33:31 am »
Quote
you feel like playing a bit with java?
yep can do if you want, where do I start?

-Coley.

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2420
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: Java/ J2ME mobile orbiter
« Reply #140 on: April 30, 2008, 10:41:03 am »
Quote
you feel like playing a bit with java?
yep can do if you want, where do I start?

-Coley.

look at the code ;) if you have questions just ask..

there are multiple points were we catch exceptions. We should call a popup form with the to_string method of the exception.

best regards,
Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

coley

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 474
    • View Profile
Re: Java/ J2ME mobile orbiter
« Reply #141 on: May 01, 2008, 02:04:45 am »
Quote
look at the code
;)thats what I thought the ans would be
Netbeans downloading....
will get back to you if I have probs compiling.

-Coley.

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2420
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: Java/ J2ME mobile orbiter
« Reply #142 on: May 01, 2008, 05:53:06 am »
Quote
look at the code
;)thats what I thought the ans would be
Netbeans downloading....
will get back to you if I have probs compiling.

-Coley.

i only used VI and Make. Just install the Java SDK and WTK (wireless toolkit), then look at the Makefile and adapt the paths.

best regards,
Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

Rukus

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
    • View Profile
Re: Java/ J2ME mobile orbiter
« Reply #143 on: May 07, 2008, 06:52:18 pm »
Got it working.  Great work Hari!   Just one question.  How do i change the res so the menu can cover the whole screen.  I see some have been able to do, but they didn't mention how.

Thanks.
Core/Generic Hybrid MD
Motherboard: ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe AM2 NVIDIA nForce 570 SLI MCP ATX
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz Socket AM2 125W Dual-Core
GPU: GPU: XFX PVT84GUDF3 GeForce 8600 GTS 256MB 128-bit GDDR3

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2420
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: Java/ J2ME mobile orbiter
« Reply #144 on: May 07, 2008, 07:00:10 pm »
Got it working.  Great work Hari!   Just one question.  How do i change the res so the menu can cover the whole screen.  I see some have been able to do, but they didn't mention how.

Thanks.

Just go to the orbiter section in the wizard of the pluto-admin web interface.

best regards,
Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

Techstyle

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 674
    • View Profile
    • Techstyle UK Ltd.
Re: Java/ J2ME mobile orbiter
« Reply #145 on: May 09, 2008, 02:02:04 pm »
Hari,

Great work on this!!

Do you know if a template and the BD Patch is included in RC2?

Thanks
Jason (New to LinuxMCE)

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2420
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: Java/ J2ME mobile orbiter
« Reply #146 on: May 10, 2008, 09:28:39 am »
Hari,

Great work on this!!

Do you know if a template and the BD Patch is included in RC2?

Thanks
Jason (New to LinuxMCE)

it does not use a template atm. The BD patch is not yet in the release.

best regards,
Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

samuelmukoti

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
Re: Java/ J2ME mobile orbiter
« Reply #147 on: May 14, 2008, 10:14:14 pm »
hi,

Just for interest, any reason the BD patch is not yet in the main tree? And apearing in the RC releases? Is there issues with stability? Completion? Or is it just coz it didnt make the feature freeze? 

Just curious coz its such a valuable tool to have the JavaMO - how nice I'd would be when it works out if the box.

Kind regards,

Sam

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5497
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Java/ J2ME mobile orbiter
« Reply #148 on: May 14, 2008, 10:26:36 pm »
the development for JavaMO was done entirely in the community tree.

As of right now, the community tree and the pluto tree are in the middle of being merged into one, and this has not yet been completed, and it wasn't completed in time for the 0710 release, so hari's BD patches didn't make it in.

-Thom

niz23

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 361
    • View Profile
Re: Java/ J2ME mobile orbiter
« Reply #149 on: May 15, 2008, 08:01:58 am »
Hi.
I have some problems with JavaMo that I discussed briefly with Hari some time ago (stability).
It seem that my phone "accidentally" work since I have not patched my BD and I can use JavaMo with some stability problems.

In order to get it more stable I believe I should install the patched BD.
Is the patched BD available as a deb somewhere? (my system is a AMD64)

/niz23