Author Topic: No audio in mythtv for one MD  (Read 735 times)

bherbie

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 44
    • View Profile
No audio in mythtv for one MD
« on: August 24, 2013, 07:36:12 pm »
I recently installed an Acer Veriton as an MD, on my 1004 system, due to its small footprint (installed behind a flat screen mounted above a fireplace) using VGA and analog sound.  Everything works as expected except there is no sound in mythtv, all of the other MDs work fine.  I have looked all over and the only reference I can find is related to Fedora installations and I tried those suggestions and even re-ran AV Wizard and still no sound in myth.

mythtv logs shows no issue and playback of movies, hulu, etc. work fine...

Anyone have any clues?


tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5499
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: No audio in mythtv for one MD
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2013, 09:08:47 pm »
Have you tried going into the setup inside mythTV itself and seeing what sound card it has selected?

-Thom

bherbie

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 44
    • View Profile
Re: No audio in mythtv for one MD
« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2013, 09:46:40 pm »
I show no audio settings in any of my MDs for myth...

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5499
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: No audio in mythtv for one MD
« Reply #3 on: August 24, 2013, 09:51:16 pm »
very strange, if you explicitly set an audio setting, does audio work?

-Thom

bherbie

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 44
    • View Profile
Re: No audio in mythtv for one MD
« Reply #4 on: August 24, 2013, 09:59:15 pm »
Nope... I tried ALSA:default and ALSA:default:Card=intel and still no audio...

Code: [Select]
root@moon227:/var/log/pluto# aplay -L
null
    Discard all samples (playback) or generate zero samples (capture)
front:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
    HDA Intel, ALC662 rev1 Analog
    Front speakers
surround40:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
    HDA Intel, ALC662 rev1 Analog
    4.0 Surround output to Front and Rear speakers
surround41:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
    HDA Intel, ALC662 rev1 Analog
    4.1 Surround output to Front, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround50:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
    HDA Intel, ALC662 rev1 Analog
    5.0 Surround output to Front, Center and Rear speakers
surround51:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
    HDA Intel, ALC662 rev1 Analog
    5.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround71:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
    HDA Intel, ALC662 rev1 Analog
    7.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Side, Rear and Woofer speakers

phenigma

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 976
    • View Profile
Re: No audio in mythtv for one MD
« Reply #5 on: August 24, 2013, 10:17:26 pm »
Perhaps:
ALSA:hw:0,0

What does your /etc/asound.conf contain?

J.

bherbie

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 44
    • View Profile
Re: No audio in mythtv for one MD [SOLVED]
« Reply #6 on: August 24, 2013, 10:21:55 pm »
thanks J.!

Quote
ALSA:hw:0,0

works!

phenigma

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 976
    • View Profile
Re: No audio in mythtv for one MD
« Reply #7 on: August 25, 2013, 12:04:40 am »
Excellent.

J.