Author Topic: Need some dedicated testers.  (Read 22235 times)

iberium

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 84
    • View Profile
    • Innovative Sight & Sound
Re: Need some dedicated testers.
« Reply #270 on: December 31, 2013, 01:22:51 am »
Yes,  I have the skins installed on my core and updated them yesterday.  I used the install script from the Web Installer.  I realized that I had to run it from my home directory,  as if i wasn't in my home directory,  then it couldn't locate AudioVisual 1.0 (or something like that),  even though it was calling the full path.

golgoj4

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1072
  • hrumpf!
    • View Profile
    • La Smarthomes - SoCal smarthome site
Re: Need some dedicated testers.
« Reply #271 on: December 31, 2013, 09:23:13 pm »
Still looking into it. You helped me uncover another bug (since fixed). Will let you know when I have an update.

-langston
Those people who tell you not to take chances, they are all missing what life's all about.

Wiki Hardware Page http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Langstonius

golgoj4

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1072
  • hrumpf!
    • View Profile
    • La Smarthomes - SoCal smarthome site
Re: Need some dedicated testers.
« Reply #272 on: January 01, 2014, 01:11:05 am »
fixed some .sh mistakes, recommend removing the QOrbiter-Dev directory, regrabbing script and running it.

-Langston
Those people who tell you not to take chances, they are all missing what life's all about.

Wiki Hardware Page http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Langstonius

iberium

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 84
    • View Profile
    • Innovative Sight & Sound
Re: Need some dedicated testers.
« Reply #273 on: January 01, 2014, 02:31:30 pm »
It actually does much less now,  this is what the script gives me when it runs:

01   01/01/14 7:24:38.494      Connection for client socket reported NOT IN THIS INSTALLATION IP=::ffff:192.168.80.188, device -1 last error 3
"07:24:38::Found installation, connecting."
"07:24:38::Connecting to router"
"07:24:38::Starting dce initialization"
"07:24:38::Initialization IP::192.168.80.1"
05   01/01/14 7:24:38.995      void ClientSocket::Disconnect() on this socket: 0xaa002538 (m_Socket: 22)
"07:24:38::Device ID is invalid. Finding Existing Orbiters of this type"
05   01/01/14 7:24:39.005      void ClientSocket::Disconnect() on this socket: 0xaa001c88 (m_Socket: 22)
98 * ::ffff:192.168.80.183 Olga's Samsung Galaxy Orbiter (Living)
170 * ::ffff:192.168.80.188 qOrbiter (Living)
01   01/01/14 7:24:39.005      Bad Device
"07:24:39::Returning List of Orbiters"
showing List
"07:24:39::Bad Device"


I should be using device #170.  It's also loading full screen by default it seems,  but I don't know for sure because it doesn't finish.  I have to alt+tab to get back to console and kill it.  The whole screen goes white and a black box takes up the top left side.  It does let me run it from anywhere now though.


maverick0815

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 539
    • View Profile
Re: Need some dedicated testers.
« Reply #274 on: January 01, 2014, 10:42:20 pm »
Happy new year.
I love what you did with the orbiter. The only thing, that I find a bit hard to adjust to, is the media list....those long bars with the covers are a bit hard on the eyes. Other than that : thumbs up!

golgoj4

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1072
  • hrumpf!
    • View Profile
    • La Smarthomes - SoCal smarthome site
Re: Need some dedicated testers.
« Reply #275 on: January 02, 2014, 02:54:39 am »
Happy new year.
I love what you did with the orbiter. The only thing, that I find a bit hard to adjust to, is the media list....those long bars with the covers are a bit hard on the eyes. Other than that : thumbs up!

Thats understood and a known issue. An example of my design failings. BUT i am pretty good at turning a screenshot into reality, so any suggestions (photoshop mockups or otherwise) are welcome.

-Langston
Those people who tell you not to take chances, they are all missing what life's all about.

Wiki Hardware Page http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Langstonius

golgoj4

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1072
  • hrumpf!
    • View Profile
    • La Smarthomes - SoCal smarthome site
Re: Need some dedicated testers.
« Reply #276 on: January 02, 2014, 02:59:43 am »
It actually does much less now,  this is what the script gives me when it runs:

01   01/01/14 7:24:38.494      Connection for client socket reported NOT IN THIS INSTALLATION IP=::ffff:192.168.80.188, device -1 last error 3
"07:24:38::Found installation, connecting."
"07:24:38::Connecting to router"
"07:24:38::Starting dce initialization"
"07:24:38::Initialization IP::192.168.80.1"
05   01/01/14 7:24:38.995      void ClientSocket::Disconnect() on this socket: 0xaa002538 (m_Socket: 22)
"07:24:38::Device ID is invalid. Finding Existing Orbiters of this type"
05   01/01/14 7:24:39.005      void ClientSocket::Disconnect() on this socket: 0xaa001c88 (m_Socket: 22)
98 * ::ffff:192.168.80.183 Olga's Samsung Galaxy Orbiter (Living)
170 * ::ffff:192.168.80.188 qOrbiter (Living)
01   01/01/14 7:24:39.005      Bad Device
"07:24:39::Returning List of Orbiters"
showing List
"07:24:39::Bad Device"


I should be using device #170.  It's also loading full screen by default it seems,  but I don't know for sure because it doesn't finish.  I have to alt+tab to get back to console and kill it.  The whole screen goes white and a black box takes up the top left side.  It does let me run it from anywhere now though.



1) I would run the installer again so it will update
2) You can bypass the loading screen by editing the config.xml and replacing -1 with your device number. config.xml is located in ~/QOrbiter-Dev
3) the fullscreen thing was probly a bad assumption on my part. I removed it, so when you update it shouldnt happen anymore.

Im familiar with the small black box inside of larger white box. Double check the skins on your core as i've updated a bunch of stuff since yesterday.

Cheers and thanks for working with me on this!
Langston
Those people who tell you not to take chances, they are all missing what life's all about.

Wiki Hardware Page http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Langstonius

maverick0815

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 539
    • View Profile
Re: Need some dedicated testers.
« Reply #277 on: January 03, 2014, 12:47:11 pm »
just a question- the TV-controls are not working/present? I can start TV from qorbiter, but not change channels.

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2924
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Need some dedicated testers.
« Reply #278 on: January 03, 2014, 12:48:24 pm »
What PVR are you using?

maverick0815

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 539
    • View Profile
Re: Need some dedicated testers.
« Reply #279 on: January 03, 2014, 07:33:08 pm »
I'm running mythtv

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2924
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Need some dedicated testers.
« Reply #280 on: January 03, 2014, 07:53:06 pm »
What skin are you using?

maverick0815

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 539
    • View Profile
Re: Need some dedicated testers.
« Reply #281 on: January 03, 2014, 08:55:25 pm »
Default skin

golgoj4

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1072
  • hrumpf!
    • View Profile
    • La Smarthomes - SoCal smarthome site
Re: Need some dedicated testers.
« Reply #282 on: January 04, 2014, 12:37:46 am »
i shall investigate
Those people who tell you not to take chances, they are all missing what life's all about.

Wiki Hardware Page http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Langstonius

maverick0815

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 539
    • View Profile
Re: Need some dedicated testers.
« Reply #283 on: January 04, 2014, 12:00:19 pm »
hmm...curious...I deleted the config.xml on my phone, thinking there was a problem with that one and it will be recreated. As it turns out, it stays at 0 bytes. When I try to set options in qorbiter, it seems they  don't stick. I can put the IP ( by the way, I forgot what webport is needed), devicetype stays a 1. Anyways, when I close that window, it tries to reach the core, but it never uses the IP-Adress. Am I doing something wrong?

maverick0815

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 539
    • View Profile
Re: Need some dedicated testers.
« Reply #284 on: January 06, 2014, 07:23:36 pm »
ok, maybe I'm a bit early with this....I just saw there is a new build (#98). It just produces a screen with a green gradiant...and not much more.