Author Topic: DVD Playback help!  (Read 2449 times)

cckrobinson

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 124
    • View Profile
DVD Playback help!
« on: March 28, 2007, 10:53:14 pm »
I'm unable to playback DVD's from LMCE.  When I select "play disk" I get the message "One moment - checking the drive ..", but nothing happens.  I've tried standard and unencrypted DVD's with the same result.  I don't see any activity on my DVD drive lights.  How do I tell LMCE to use my /dev/dvd device to playback DVDs?  I can't seem to find any Pluto\LMCE documentation that describes this.  Is there a custom xine config file that I need to tweak or something?

webpaul1

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
    • View Profile
Re: DVD Playback help!
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2007, 01:50:05 am »
in the admin site, advanced, configuration devices.  find the disk drive (normally core / the core hybrid / orbiter / disk drive) and there's the name of the drive (like /dev/cdrom)

cckrobinson

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 124
    • View Profile
Re: DVD Playback help!
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2007, 04:04:14 am »
That worked.  As you mentioned the /dev/cdrom was the default.

blakeseven

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: DVD Playback help!
« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2007, 04:10:40 am »
I am having the same issue. I don't understand how you fixed it. I have core/ but no core/hybrid. Can you please help. Thanks Ben

cckrobinson

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 124
    • View Profile
Re: DVD Playback help!
« Reply #4 on: March 30, 2007, 04:35:10 am »
Open the LMCE admin page.
Click on Advanced->configuration->devices in the green bar at the top of the right panel.
You should see a list of "My devices" in the lower left hand pane.
Select 'Core'.
This will display several items: DCERouter, App Server, Generic PC as MD
In my case, I selected "Generic PC as MD".  It depends what your box during the setup.
That will open a list of devices such as: OnScreen Orbiter, HAL, GeForce or TNT2
Select "OnScreen Orbiter"
Select the "Disk Drive" option
Scroll down to the bottom of the right page. Under the "Device data" section you should see the name of the drive (/dev/cdrom).  Change it to /dev/dvd (assuming that's the path to your DVD)

That's it.



blakeseven

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: DVD Playback help!
« Reply #5 on: March 30, 2007, 04:51:36 am »
Cool Now the disk is spinning, but still no picture. any other guess ?

Thanks

cckrobinson

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 124
    • View Profile
Re: DVD Playback help!
« Reply #6 on: March 30, 2007, 05:31:03 am »
Did you install libdvdcss?  By default LMCE won't play encrypted DVDs since no one is paying the licensing fee. 

To install libdvdcss do this:

From inside LMCE type ctrl+alt+F1.  That should bring you to a terminal window.
Login and type the following:

sudo apt-get install -y libdvdread3
sudo /usr/share/doc/libdvdread3/install-css.sh

After the install is finished type ctrl+alt+F11 to get back to LMCE.

Try to play your DVD again.

Olav

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: DVD Playback help!
« Reply #7 on: April 01, 2007, 11:49:36 am »
I have a similar problems.. I have installed and done everything that i have found on this forum and in the wiki to play a DVD. When i am inserting a DVD a window pops up with the information that a new disk has been inserted, but nothing happens after that.. :S

1audio

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 552
    • View Profile
Re: DVD Playback help!
« Reply #8 on: April 02, 2007, 12:02:52 am »
To play a DVD you must have DVD CSS software installed.   From the orbiter on the MD you are using advanced - add software- (next page) select DVD CSS.

mmdmurphy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: DVD Playback help!
« Reply #9 on: April 04, 2007, 03:49:36 am »
I didn't want to start a new topic, and this is almost related...

JUST got linuxmce up and running, so maybe I missed something.

I have some audio files I put under \\192.168.2.2\home\public\data\audio (yep, I use windows and samba) and I can see them in linuxmce. I figured out the "add to database" but not sure what that gets me.

So, again, maybe I am missing something, how do I PLAY them?  Guess I thought I could just click on them, and they would stream to my laptop and play????