Author Topic: Ubuntu + LinuxMCE on a virtual machine  (Read 2025 times)

xenoky

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Ubuntu + LinuxMCE on a virtual machine
« on: March 27, 2007, 11:51:57 pm »
I see in this forum that someone have succesfully installed ubuntu + linux mce on a virtualized machine with vmware.
Sharing that virtual machine could be a good idea, for easily testing the product.
Hope someone make a torrent...

thank you
bye

arbrandes

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Ubuntu + LinuxMCE on a virtual machine
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2007, 12:17:19 am »
I have one such virtual machine, and I hadn't realized sharing it was even an option.  Not a bad idea at all!

However, not having foreseen such a use, I created it with static allocation of a virtual 8 Gb disk, and also created a snapshot right after finishing the initial update. It now occupies 13 Gb, which I believe is too big a torrent for this purpose.

But would this work?  Are VMWare images shareable and crossplatform?  I created mine under (surprise, surprise) Ubuntu 6.10.

xenoky

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Ubuntu + LinuxMCE on a virtual machine
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2007, 01:41:39 pm »
  Are VMWare images shareable and crossplatform?
i am quite sure they are. The virtual hardware seen by the virtual machine is the one who vmware virtualize (which is the same for every platform)

Unfortunetly i thought the virtual machine fits on a dvd... But 13 Gb is too much for sharing

Drice

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Ubuntu + LinuxMCE on a virtual machine
« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2007, 03:38:48 pm »
Would be nice indeed if somebody would strip down the ubuntu install and add mce.

Only downside is that the fancy user interface doesn't work on VMWare. At least not on mine

xenoky

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Ubuntu + LinuxMCE on a virtual machine
« Reply #4 on: March 28, 2007, 07:51:59 pm »
in vmware graphic chip is software emulated so you can't get good video performance.