Author Topic: Hauppage HD-PVR - anyone got this working with LinuxMCE?  (Read 801 times)

jamo

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 457
    • View Profile
    • LMCE user Page
Hauppage HD-PVR - anyone got this working with LinuxMCE?
« on: November 15, 2012, 08:48:30 am »
Has anyone got this working yet? Looks like an awesome and pretty reasonably priced device.

I would want to use it as a video capture and encoding device between my settop box and media director. It appears to support composite video (which I'm currently using since it is standard def stb) but also HD via component which I could use if I switched to an HD stb at some point.

Also comes with IR receiver and blaster to change channel on STB. Brilliant! It is referenced in the mythtv hardware wiki so I presume it is supported by myth?

Any comments?

ardirtbiker

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 240
    • View Profile
Re: Re: Hauppage HD-PVR - anyone got this working with LinuxMCE?
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2012, 12:48:10 pm »
I dont have any problems with LMCE and my HDPVR.  There may be a guide in the 'How-To' area.  You may have to go into web-admin and add it as a capture device on your MD then reload the router...some more software packages should install

Dennis
(from my Samsung Droid Charge)

jamo

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 457
    • View Profile
    • LMCE user Page
Re: Hauppage HD-PVR - anyone got this working with LinuxMCE?
« Reply #2 on: November 15, 2012, 12:51:40 pm »
Sweeeeet.  ;D

Thanks Dennis. Will take that straight out of the kids' college fund and order one.

jamo

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 457
    • View Profile
    • LMCE user Page
Re: Hauppage HD-PVR - anyone got this working with LinuxMCE?
« Reply #3 on: November 15, 2012, 12:56:21 pm »
I see there is quite a nice wiki page from mythtv which could help.

Dennis, do you use it with MythTV?
And do you use the IR remote, receiver, blaster at all?

ardirtbiker

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 240
    • View Profile
Re: Re: Hauppage HD-PVR - anyone got this working with LinuxMCE?
« Reply #4 on: November 15, 2012, 01:29:26 pm »
I use a Gyration remote and all my audio equipment is controlled via rs232 or network

Yes I use it with Mythtv within Lmce

Dennis
(from my Samsung Droid Charge)

jamo

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 457
    • View Profile
    • LMCE user Page
Re: Hauppage HD-PVR - anyone got this working with LinuxMCE?
« Reply #5 on: November 15, 2012, 01:37:51 pm »
Thanks.

My cheap stuff (AV equipment) is IR only, I'm afraid. Will try the blaster/receiver on the hd pvr and let you all know. Possibly do a wiki page even ;-)

ardirtbiker

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 240
    • View Profile
Re: Re: Hauppage HD-PVR - anyone got this working with LinuxMCE?
« Reply #6 on: November 15, 2012, 02:35:01 pm »
It should work... Follow the mythtv wiki on getting the ir blater working

Dennis
(from my Samsung Droid Charge)