Author Topic: Why are you using LinuxMCE?  (Read 1367 times)

brononius

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 376
  • Trying to keep it simple and centralized...
    • View Profile
    • OnIrIa - linuxMCE blog (runs on ... linuxmce server)
Why are you using LinuxMCE?
« on: September 04, 2012, 01:56:11 pm »
I'm a bit curious what most of you are using on LinuxMCE.
Through a lot of forum posts, i've got the impression that gaming and media is a big feature. Personally i'm using none of that. For me, home automation is the biggest intrest. But i'm sure that everybody has his flavor?
You can choose 3 answers if you want.  :-\


Let me know if any LinuxMCE tools are missing...


For others, i should also add Cacti and Joomla.
But since this isn't in LinuxMCE, only running on the same machine it's a bit hard to put it in the list.
« Last Edit: September 04, 2012, 05:37:10 pm by brononius »
Version: linuxMCE 1004 (v 2012-07-01)
Extra's: Cacti, webmin, phpmyadmin, joomla

Server: MSI MS-7519 / E7400 2,8GB / 4GB / SSD 60GB / Radeon HD4350 / RTL8111 - 3C905C-TX
Orbiters: HTC Desire Z, HP PocketPC, Samsung Galaxy S, iPAD, ASUS eeePAD
Automation: EIB technology, KNX IP ROUTER 750
Phones: Cisco 7940, Cisco 7960
Camera's: IPCAM02

bongowongo

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 826
    • View Profile
Re: Why are you using LinuxMCE?
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2012, 04:13:46 pm »
I voted other.
I do it as a hobby/research

brononius

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 376
  • Trying to keep it simple and centralized...
    • View Profile
    • OnIrIa - linuxMCE blog (runs on ... linuxmce server)
Re: Why are you using LinuxMCE?
« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2012, 05:36:48 pm »
I voted other.
I do it as a hobby/research

hmmm, more under the topic 'development', no?
Check, added... ;)
Version: linuxMCE 1004 (v 2012-07-01)
Extra's: Cacti, webmin, phpmyadmin, joomla

Server: MSI MS-7519 / E7400 2,8GB / 4GB / SSD 60GB / Radeon HD4350 / RTL8111 - 3C905C-TX
Orbiters: HTC Desire Z, HP PocketPC, Samsung Galaxy S, iPAD, ASUS eeePAD
Automation: EIB technology, KNX IP ROUTER 750
Phones: Cisco 7940, Cisco 7960
Camera's: IPCAM02

bongowongo

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 826
    • View Profile
Re: Why are you using LinuxMCE?
« Reply #3 on: September 04, 2012, 06:07:35 pm »
hmmm, more under the topic 'development', no?
Check, added... ;)
Development is more coding. I cannot code.

Armor Gnome

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 304
    • View Profile
Re: Why are you using LinuxMCE?
« Reply #4 on: September 04, 2012, 07:50:55 pm »
I can't (yet) code very well either but that is my primary use.  LinuxMCE is a terrific learning environment for me to see and do a lot of different things. 

I have some oob devices and can always add more if I want to add that functionality easily.  The forums and wiki are full of supported devices.  I can also look at how these devices function by checking out their device templates and work on developing my own support for hardware.

My household would answer this poll differently though, the roommate and guests use the media player so I leave that one alone so that it always functions smoothly.
I made a wiki!  Click here to check out my system.

pointman87

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
    • View Profile
Re: Why are you using LinuxMCE?
« Reply #5 on: September 04, 2012, 09:27:18 pm »
Mediacenter, tv, phone, lights, NAS, TimeMachine for the MAC, DHCP, deluge torrent daemon.

BR Daniel

essem_9

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 31
  • Fascinated by LMCE
    • View Profile
Re: Why are you using LinuxMCE?
« Reply #6 on: September 05, 2012, 01:27:11 am »
Linux is my OS at work and home. However i am challenged in the coding department and would love to pick up on that. Taking baby steps with shell scripting.

I have been running MythTV, Asterisk, FreeNAS, Server (Webserver, zoneminder, wordpress etc) for a couple of years. Since I was looking to combine my 3 servers in to one single one; that's when i stumbled upon LMCE. Not only did it cover my existing needs but also got me hooked on to home automation. Thanks to all those who have contributed to this distro...


golgoj4

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1074
  • hrumpf!
    • View Profile
    • La Smarthomes - SoCal smarthome site
Re: Why are you using LinuxMCE?
« Reply #7 on: September 05, 2012, 03:58:30 am »
one day, when i have a starship, i will already have the OS. Seriously, its the freakin starship enterprise alpha. thats why. for me.

-golgoj4
Those people who tell you not to take chances, they are all missing what life's all about.

Wiki Hardware Page http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Langstonius

bulek

  • Administrator
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *****
  • Posts: 886
  • Living with LMCE
    • View Profile
Re: Why are you using LinuxMCE?
« Reply #8 on: September 06, 2012, 12:50:36 pm »
Hmm,

just wanted to enter my usage of LMCE, but more than 3 options are not allowed. I'm using Dianemo for all checks except Gaming and Other. Pretty complex system and perhaps that's the cause that I have to fix things quite often.

Regards,

Bulek.
Thanks in advance,

regards,

Bulek.