Author Topic: Need help! I cant add media directors  (Read 3226 times)

acidflame1988

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Need help! I cant add media directors
« Reply #15 on: April 14, 2012, 07:28:56 am »
now i cant get media to play or anything..pre alpha software isnt expected to however:) 

How can I do a core only on 8.10 install on my server? I dont need it to do anything other than act as the server for the md's and thats the problem i was having with it. The 10.04 install has this option. Im fixated on getting a working system in my house:) I saw that there was a wiki but I dont understand what it is telling me to do to get it to run headless or core only.

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3013
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Need help! I cant add media directors
« Reply #16 on: April 14, 2012, 08:35:23 am »
re core only or not. This is what I did on my core, many,many moons ago: I installed a hybrid with 800x600 resolution, UI1 and analog stereo. Should work on most any gfx chip set. Did all the usual setup wizardry on the core. Changed AutostartMedia in /etc/pluto.conf to 0, rebooted, and presto: Core only. The core is now in the attic, rarely to be looked at.

acidflame1988

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Need help! I cant add media directors
« Reply #17 on: April 14, 2012, 05:48:43 pm »
How can I get it to do anything on 8.04? It just says it cant start x or something and I know its a driver issue. My server is a dl380 with a ati rage xl.

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3013
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Need help! I cant add media directors
« Reply #18 on: April 14, 2012, 05:54:40 pm »
I only know of one person who ever ran 804. most other people run either 810 or 1004

acidflame1988

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Need help! I cant add media directors
« Reply #19 on: April 14, 2012, 05:56:57 pm »
I meant the latest stable hehe:) it just goes to where it cant display x after I get done with the install. Its where the av wizard should be

l3mce

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1081
    • View Profile
Re: Need help! I cant add media directors
« Reply #20 on: April 14, 2012, 06:31:00 pm »
1004 has greatly improved graphics support OOTB.

Running 810 requires that you use nVidia chipsets, and not the newer ones. Your ati will work on 1004... though you will not get compositing, and h264 content is not likely to be happy.
I never quit... I just ping out.

acidflame1988

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Need help! I cant add media directors
« Reply #21 on: April 14, 2012, 11:11:43 pm »
how do I get it to play anything though? I have 10.04 installed still and I cant get it to play any files or anything. Maybe I just dont know how to use it lol

acidflame1988

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Need help! I cant add media directors
« Reply #22 on: April 14, 2012, 11:15:06 pm »
All I have on my md is a orbiter and anytime I select a file to play it just goes black and I click the screen and get the play pause and all that....am I missing something? I dont mean to be such a noob but we all are at one time or another lol

l3mce

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1081
    • View Profile
Re: Need help! I cant add media directors
« Reply #23 on: April 15, 2012, 12:54:34 am »
9 times out of 10 this is due to an audio problem.
9 times out of 10 this audio problem will force AVWizard to skip.


So... did you see avwizard (Green and white where you select audio/video options)?
I never quit... I just ping out.

acidflame1988

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Need help! I cant add media directors
« Reply #24 on: April 15, 2012, 02:14:37 am »
nope I did not see the av wizard at all. I have audio when I go into the kubuntu desktop in the computing menu though

l3mce

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1081
    • View Profile
Re: Need help! I cant add media directors
« Reply #25 on: April 15, 2012, 02:51:55 am »
irc.freenode.net  #linuxmce

We will figure it out.
I never quit... I just ping out.

l3mce

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1081
    • View Profile
Re: Need help! I cant add media directors
« Reply #26 on: April 15, 2012, 04:00:32 pm »
Ok Acidflame... figured it out.
Replace your local and md versions of /usr/pluto/bin/X-CleanupVideo.sh with:
Code: [Select]
#!/bin/bash

. /usr/pluto/bin/Utils.sh

DEVICECATEGORY_Video_Cards=125
DEVICECATEGORY_Media_Director=8
DEVICETEMPLATE_GeForce_or_TNT2=1736
DEVICETEMPLATE_Radeon_8500_or_newer=1721
DEVICETEMPLATE_Unichrome=1814

#

# Clean up video driver packages
# When a video card is removed/replaced, remove its packages
# The new drivers for video cards are installed later in this script, not in this function
CleanupVideo()
{
modprobe -r nvidia
modprobe nvidia

local MD
MD=$(FindDevice_Category "$PK_Device" "$DEVICECATEGORY_Media_Director" "" parent)

if [[ -z "$MD" ]]; then
echo "$(date -R) --- CleanupVideo: this machine is not a hybrid or MD; no video card operations required"
return 0
fi

echo "$(date -R) --> CleanupVideo"

# Check for video card changes and update system accordingly
# Package name lists are treated as prefixes
local Pkgs_nVidia
Pkgs_nVidia=(nvidia-driver nvidia-glx "nvidia-kernel-.*" pluto-nvidia-video-drivers)
local Pkgs_ATI
Pkgs_ATI=(xorg-driver-fglrx pluto-ati-video-drivers)
local Pkgs_VIA
Pkgs_VIA=(xserver-xorg-video-viaprop)
local nV_inst ATI_inst VIA_inst
local nV_dev ATI_dev VIA_dev
local Pkg

# Find installed packages
echo "$(date -R) --> Finding installed packages (nVidia)"
nV_inst="$(InstalledPackages "${Pkgs_nVidia[@]}")"
echo "$(date -R) --- Installed packages (nVidia): " $nV_inst
echo "$(date -R) <-- Finding installed packages (nVidia)"

echo "$(date -R) --> Finding installed packages (ATI)"
ATI_inst="$(InstalledPackages "${Pkgs_ATI[@]}")"
echo "$(date -R) --- Installed packages (ATI): " $ATI_inst
echo "$(date -R) <-- Finding installed packages (ATI)"

echo "$(date -R) --> Finding installed packages (VIA)"
VIA_inst="$(InstalledPackages "${Pkgs_VIA[@]}")"
echo "$(date -R) --- Installed packages (VIA): " $VIA_inst
echo "$(date -R) <-- Finding installed packages (VIA)"
# END - Find installed packages

SubComputer=$(FindDevice_Category $PK_Device 8)
if [[ -z "$SubComputer" ]]; then
SubComputer="$PK_Device"
fi

# Find desired video card
echo "$(date -R) --> Retreiving desired video card (nVidia)"
nV_dev="$(FindDevice_Template $SubComputer $DEVICETEMPLATE_GeForce_or_TNT2 'norecursion')"
echo "$(date -R) <-- Retreiving desired video card (nVidia)"

echo "$(date -R) --> Retreiving desired video card (ATI)"
ATI_dev="$(FindDevice_Template $SubComputer $DEVICETEMPLATE_Radeon_8500_or_newer 'norecursion')"
echo "$(date -R) <-- Retreiving desired video card (ATI)"

echo "$(date -R) --> Retreiving desired video card (VIA)"
VIA_dev="$(FindDevice_Template $SubComputer $DEVICETEMPLATE_Unichrome 'norecursion')"
echo "$(date -R) <-- Retreiving desired video card (VIA)"
# END - Find desired video card

# Add proprietary video card Device and drivers if needed
# TODO: allow user to express his/her will in using the open source driver if he/she so desires
echo "$(date -R) --> Auto-create video card device"

case "$Best_Video_Driver" in
nvidia)
if [[ -z "$nV_dev" ]]; then
NewDeviceTemplate=$DEVICETEMPLATE_GeForce_or_TNT2
nV_dev=$(/usr/pluto/bin/CreateDevice -d "$NewDeviceTemplate" -R "$PK_Device")
fi
;;
fglrx)
if [[ -z "$ATI_dev" ]]; then
NewDeviceTemplate=$DEVICETEMPLATE_Radeon_8500_or_newer
ATI_dev=$(/usr/pluto/bin/CreateDevice -d "$NewDeviceTemplate" -R "$PK_Device")
fi
;;
via|sarge|verge)
if [[ -z "$VIA_dev" ]]; then
NewDeviceTemplate=$DEVICETEMPLATE_Unichrome
VIA_dev=$(/usr/pluto/bin/CreateDevice -d "$NewDeviceTemplate" -R "$PK_Device")
fi
;;
#
esac
echo "$(date -R) <-- Auto-create video card device"

echo "$(date -R) --> Performing package purges"
if [[ -n "$nV_inst" && -z "$nV_dev" ]]; then
apt-get -y remove --purge $nV_inst
elif [[ -n "$ATI_inst" && -z "$ATI_dev" ]]; then
apt-get -y remove --purge $ATI_inst
elif [[ -n "$VIA_inst" && -z "$VIA_dev" ]]; then
apt-get -y remove --purge $VIA_inst
fi
echo "$(date -R) <-- Performing package purges"

echo "$(date -R) --> Configuring X"
bash -x /usr/pluto/bin/Xconfigure.sh --update-video-driver | tee-pluto /var/log/pluto/Xconfigure.log
echo "$(date -R) <-- Configuring X"

echo "$(date -R) <-- CleanupVideo"
}

Make sure that file remains executable. So after whatever operation you use to replace those, just
Code: [Select]
sudo chmod +x /usr/pluto/bin/X-CleanupVideo.sh
sudo chmod +x /usr/pluto/diskless/22/usr/pluto/bin/X-CleanupVideo.sh

Then perform the following steps on the MD.
Code: [Select]
sudo -s
apt-get -y remove --purge xorg-driver-fglrx fglrx* --force-yes
apt-get -y install --reinstall libgl1-mesa-glx libgl1-mesa-dri fglrx-modaliases --force-yes
dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg
apt-get -y install --reinstall xserver-xorg-core --force-yes
rm /etc/X11/xorg.con*
reboot

Should end up at avwiz. Give me a holla if she no go, but I am sure she will.

This problem was related to a secondary process installing the conflicting fglrx drivers outside of and prior to my detection routine running. This causes no worky worky borkiness. Yes, that is the technical term.
« Last Edit: April 15, 2012, 04:13:49 pm by l3mce »
I never quit... I just ping out.