Author Topic: New 1004 Installer Testing  (Read 10658 times)

seth

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 485
  • A day w/o LinuxMCE is like a day w/o sunshine!
    • View Profile
Re: New 1004 Installer Testing
« Reply #45 on: October 14, 2011, 09:22:21 pm »
 ;D
An Update. I have installed 10.04 using the installer script today, and there were no issues.
Install completed successfully!!!!

Only issue of note was that after AV Wizard, it kept saying that it could not find the orbiter config file, it would try to regen it. But after Orbitergen process completed, There was Sarah!

Continuing on with diskless creation, but AFAIK, new installer is working without issues.

Excellent work!!!!!

Best Regards,

Seth
".....Because Once you've LinuxMCE'd....."
System stats located at my user page:

http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Seth

bongowongo

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 826
    • View Profile
Re: New 1004 Installer Testing
« Reply #46 on: October 15, 2011, 12:58:36 am »
;D
An Update. I have installed 10.04 using the installer script today, and there were no issues.
Install completed successfully!!!!

Only issue of note was that after AV Wizard, it kept saying that it could not find the orbiter config file, it would try to regen it. But after Orbitergen process completed, There was Sarah!

Continuing on with diskless creation, but AFAIK, new installer is working without issues.

Excellent work!!!!!

Best Regards,

Seth

I have the same experience.

Murdock

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 229
    • View Profile
Re: New 1004 Installer Testing
« Reply #47 on: October 15, 2011, 03:20:04 pm »
Thank you for testing!

coley

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 472
    • View Profile
Re: New 1004 Installer Testing
« Reply #48 on: October 19, 2011, 02:34:37 pm »
I've also done a VM based install of 10.04 using your script.
Core Installs fine, Diskless create ran and added one virtual MD - booted and running.

-Coley.

kyfalcon

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
    • View Profile
Re: New 1004 Installer Testing
« Reply #49 on: October 19, 2011, 05:16:43 pm »
Does the USB remote work with the new install? If that is the case I will delete my MD's and rerun the MD installation.

Thanks,
Kevin

Murdock

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 229
    • View Profile
Re: New 1004 Installer Testing
« Reply #50 on: October 19, 2011, 05:58:29 pm »
Which remote? Mine is working with the gyration 3101us

coley

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 472
    • View Profile
Re: New 1004 Installer Testing
« Reply #51 on: October 19, 2011, 06:09:43 pm »
oops maybe spoke too soon.
apt-get apdate/upgrade today on the virtual core and I'm getting an error installing radvd, error parsing config file.

-Coley.

Murdock

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 229
    • View Profile
Re: New 1004 Installer Testing
« Reply #52 on: October 19, 2011, 08:42:53 pm »
Odd, I wonder if that's an upstream ubuntu issue:

Code: [Select]
dcerouter_1021517:~# apt-cache policy radvd
radvd:
  Installed: (none)
  Candidate: 1:1.3-1.1
  Version table:
     1:1.3-1.1 0
        500 http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ lucid/main Packages
        500 http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ lucid/main Packages

coley

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 472
    • View Profile
Re: New 1004 Installer Testing
« Reply #53 on: October 24, 2011, 01:32:49 pm »
May have been something local - removed the offending package and did another upgrade, seems to have sorted itself out.

-Coley.

mkbrown69

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 186
    • View Profile
Re: New 1004 Installer Testing
« Reply #54 on: October 24, 2011, 07:06:35 pm »
oops maybe spoke too soon.
apt-get apdate/upgrade today on the virtual core and I'm getting an error installing radvd, error parsing config file.

-Coley.

I had the same issue.  I solved it by copying radvd.conf from /usr/share/doc/radvd/examples/simple-radvd.conf to /etc/radvd.conf, and then doing apt-get install to resume the upgrade.  I would concur with Murdock as it's likely an upstream issue.  The radvd.conf file that was installed by apt had two blank lines in it, which is why apt barfed an error on trying to restart the service.

/Mike

P.S.  I'm not typing this from home; The path is from memory, so it'll get you in the ballpark if it's not quite right! ;-)

P.P.S.S. I'm running LMCE in a KVM based VM, installed by the new installer.  Core installed fine, I'm having issues with MD's.  Neither has a keyboard attached normally.  One is a Intel Atom 330 with Intel graphics (X fails to configure), the second is an M2NPV-VM using component out 720p (which doesn't initialize).  I expect the M2NPV-VM is fine, and I just need to use the keyboard to pick the output and resolution.  I'll see if I can work it out with the Atom/Intel graphics, and submit a ticket/patches when I get some free time.  Not much of that when you have kids ;-)
« Last Edit: October 24, 2011, 07:12:44 pm by mkbrown69 »

Murdock

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 229
    • View Profile
Re: New 1004 Installer Testing
« Reply #55 on: October 24, 2011, 07:39:49 pm »
Quote
when I get some free time.  Not much of that when you have kids ;-)
amen, I've got one and she's a handful.

seth

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 485
  • A day w/o LinuxMCE is like a day w/o sunshine!
    • View Profile
Re: New 1004 Installer Testing
« Reply #56 on: October 28, 2011, 09:54:45 pm »
To get the intel graphics to work on my Foxconn Nettop (N10 family chipset), I had to do the following:

After getting the pretty blue "Failed to setup X" screen.

ssh to core from netbook (or whatever you have, could do it directly from the core in KDE desktop using Konsole)

Code: [Select]
ssh dcerouter - (or 192.168.80.1)
ssh to the MD you are booting:

Code: [Select]
ssh moonXXX - substitute the X's for your MD number of course
Edit the xorg.conf file created by the failed first run:

Code: [Select]
cd /etc/X11
vi xorg.conf
type / and then enter vesa then hit enter again
highlight first letter of vesa (if not already done)
cw intel - yes just type the letters cw then i n t e l - then hit esc key - vi crash course J.I.C.  ;)
save file by doing
press shift and make a :
then type wq! and hit enter

there is also an xorg.conf file in this directory, that also has AV wizard as a part of the filename. I am doing this from memory, so I am not sure. But after you edit both of these files, making the "vesa" to "intel" change,run the following:

Code: [Select]
/usr/pluto/bin/RebootWithAVWizard.sh
After it comes back around, you should see your AV Wizard. Proceed as usual.

Best Regards,

Seth
".....Because Once you've LinuxMCE'd....."
System stats located at my user page:

http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Seth

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5495
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: New 1004 Installer Testing
« Reply #57 on: October 29, 2011, 08:33:37 pm »
Has anyone looked at the X-Configuration scripts that create the xorg.conf? Can we work on them to support the "intel" driver?

-Thom

seth

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 485
  • A day w/o LinuxMCE is like a day w/o sunshine!
    • View Profile
Re: New 1004 Installer Testing
« Reply #58 on: October 31, 2011, 01:44:51 pm »
 :o
Hi all.
I will take a look at this. I am planning on acquiring a few more of these "Nettops" now that I am running 10.04.
They are quite nice, fit great behind a flat panel TV with the included vesa mount. And with memory weigh in under $200.
They also play HD content well, and are extremely quiet. They even do UI2 masked ( sweetness ).

As a side project I am also looking into alsa configuration. They do not play well with AV Wizard choosing HDMI sound.

But......
If someone can point me to the right place to start looking through the scripts. Could be merely adding a definition for the particular series of chipsets inherit in the N10 family chipset onboard cards.

Thanks, and Best Regards,

Seth
".....Because Once you've LinuxMCE'd....."
System stats located at my user page:

http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Seth

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5495
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: New 1004 Installer Testing
« Reply #59 on: October 31, 2011, 01:51:11 pm »
If you check out the source tree, you'll see src/X-Configuration, which is where all that logic resides. It is called from the AV Wizard scripts (src/AVWizard/scripts).

It is a mash of shell script, and awk.

-Thom