Author Topic: Trying and trying to make this work on Linux first time  (Read 3850 times)

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5501
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Trying and trying to make this work on Linux first time
« Reply #15 on: March 18, 2011, 03:04:15 pm »
You seem to misunderstand.. I'm one of the lead developers, and I'm telling you, you're in for months of pain, and reduced functionality, if you do not set it up the way it was intended.

Unless, of course, you're actually willing to make patches and contribute to the code base?

-Thom

So Thom, you got yourself a hang-on there, your reply is one of the most earlier spoken of bad answers.
I assume you read all my posts here, then you must have been figuring out that having an old system being replaced, just asking for flexibility within Linux MCE.
I do believe that every system, and i mean EVERY system can be adapted in any existing network. Those questions i asked came after three days searching without luck.
So do not be so short, if your world exists around this system, and it is the first in your home, i agree. Build then everything around it.
But there must be another way and i almost got there by myself, almost. So i really do not want to hear that i should change every device, webservers, NAS, TS's, file servers, mailservers, routing configuration, firewall and all loose devices to your option?
That is short minded and absolutely not the thoughts of a person who is in Linux.
As this is my first big attempt making such device working, i keep on going. Because i'm a system- and networkcontroller for many many years and not intended to give up so easily. Thank you for attempting me to throw of this project, you failed.
Anne

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5501
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Trying and trying to make this work on Linux first time
« Reply #16 on: March 18, 2011, 03:15:14 pm »
ALSO understand, that the people we have the most trouble with, are people like you: Network guys, who know enough to be paranoid, but don't know enough to actually contribute back. You think i'm being mean; I'm just dispensing cold hard truth here.

My responses come from years of trying to help people like you in good faith, only for them to just wind up doing what they want to anyway, bitching about it in the process, and wasting hundreds of hours of my time, and everyone else's.

The amount of time you'll spend to break the system into your way of thinking, will not be compensated in any other form, and since you're probably not going to contribute the extensive, custom, non-replicable patches back to us, what incentive is it to us to help you, when it won't help everyone else?

-Thom

Randall

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Re: Trying and trying to make this work on Linux first time
« Reply #17 on: March 18, 2011, 10:31:04 pm »
whats keeping you from having two separate networks for the time being...one to familiarize and test lmce and the other one for your everyday use. Once you figured lmce out for yourself, you can always make the switch. In the end, you have to find out for yourself, if lmce is for you or not.

That's what I'm doing. As a new migrant to LMCE, I have to say it isn't easy to drop everything in a previously working setup and switch cold-turkey. It would be easier if LMCE were a full, turn-key solution but the reality is that it is a complicated system with a few quirks. For me, my day-job requires that keep my VPN, mail server, web server and number-crunching machine operating. So, my dcerouter sits behind all of this and controls a separate dhcp network for 'home' devices. I've not run into any real trouble with this approach but I'm going to need to splurge on a decent gigabit switch and build a PoE injector in the not too distant future.

Anne

  • Guest
Re: Trying and trying to make this work on Linux first time
« Reply #18 on: March 19, 2011, 09:17:18 am »
Ah well, Thom, if you are so right, why does it feel wrong then? If i'm a bull headed paranoid network guy who does not want to abide to the system rules and wants to implement just a simple media device in an existing network and sure of that the system 'should' be flexible to adjust to it, then what are you? developer of a system that says: I AM GOD, YOU ARE JUST A BUNCH OF IDIOTS WHO MAY OR MAY NOT CONTRIBUTE.  something like that, so is how i feel your comment. I know you guys did a fantastic job, but is my plea not worth thinking over? making it more flexible all the time? The whole world is connected, it all works fine, let not your system becom a second internet at home and be implementable.
I don't know if i go on if i stumble upon your suggestions or rather wishes, and yes, i am not a contributer so the best way to say to you all goodbye and never meet again?
So be it!


Instead of leaving, i'll convince more morons like me to use your system, and this forum, and then you can unknowingly that i might have send them, help them till your teeth bleed! How's that?  ;D

Come on, use your quality for the best. i wish you could see it my way, i'm not on here to ask stupid questions and make stupid decisions, not everybody has the ability to develope a nice piece of free software. One day someone comes by and asks to implement YOUR system into a complete finished piece of nice hardware, and then he offers you big bucks, would you say no to him?
What i try to say here is that instead of argueing, convince, explain why and why not, stop using your personal feelings in other man's mind and help where you can, that way you can pad yourself on the shoulder and a lot of people see the best of the best.
Thanks for trying to help Thom.
« Last Edit: March 19, 2011, 10:41:47 am by Anne »

maverick0815

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 545
    • View Profile
Re: Trying and trying to make this work on Linux first time
« Reply #19 on: March 19, 2011, 04:00:59 pm »
so, now that everyone has voiced their opinions, perhaps its better to get to the topic at hand?
Anne, if you got questions, ask them and you will get an answer, its up to you, if you want to take the advice or not.

l3mce

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1081
    • View Profile
Re: Trying and trying to make this work on Linux first time
« Reply #20 on: March 20, 2011, 02:18:43 am »
Ah well, Thom, if you are so right, why does it feel wrong then? If i'm a bull headed paranoid network guy who does not want to abide to the system rules and wants to implement just a simple media device in an existing network and sure of that the system 'should' be flexible to adjust to it, then what are you? developer of a system that says: I AM GOD, YOU ARE JUST A BUNCH OF IDIOTS WHO MAY OR MAY NOT CONTRIBUTE.  something like that, so is how i feel your comment. I know you guys did a fantastic job, but is my plea not worth thinking over? making it more flexible all the time? The whole world is connected, it all works fine, let not your system becom a second internet at home and be implementable.
I don't know if i go on if i stumble upon your suggestions or rather wishes, and yes, i am not a contributer so the best way to say to you all goodbye and never meet again?
So be it!


Instead of leaving, i'll convince more morons like me to use your system, and this forum, and then you can unknowingly that i might have send them, help them till your teeth bleed! How's that?  ;D

Come on, use your quality for the best. i wish you could see it my way, i'm not on here to ask stupid questions and make stupid decisions, not everybody has the ability to develope a nice piece of free software. One day someone comes by and asks to implement YOUR system into a complete finished piece of nice hardware, and then he offers you big bucks, would you say no to him?
What i try to say here is that instead of argueing, convince, explain why and why not, stop using your personal feelings in other man's mind and help where you can, that way you can pad yourself on the shoulder and a lot of people see the best of the best.
Thanks for trying to help Thom.

Explain television to me. How it works.

Only I am an ant.


The system is complicated. Few really understand it. You are going to have to accept some principals on faith, or use something less comprehensive, I think is what Thom is saying. After enough years, you become abrasive to time vampires, in any station in life. That is not disparaging of you as a person. LMCE has to control the network, or it will not work, and all of the marvelous things that do work will be impacted by your unwillingness to let it be the router, because it seems like a server... it is just a very complicated router/messaging system. Routing those messages is important. Nobody wants you to be servile, but until you write something to be the way you want it, you have to accept it as it is.

For the record... I am an ant.
I never quit... I just ping out.

Anne2

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Trying and trying to make this work on Linux first time
« Reply #21 on: March 20, 2011, 08:49:37 am »
So, Anne died from de-motivation and had his account removed out of anger and asked himself:
'Well, if you think that i am going to rely everything at home on an almost 10 years old hardware based computer with an unstable or beta version to just control my watching a movie and so? you must be kidding. The maker should know better and maybe he did a "GREAT JOB" but what he forgot was that there are people working for years in the IT sector who CAN blindly build on reliable hardware. Not only that, it is implementable and thoroughly tested.' To the point? ok, what do i do now? throw it away? or throw it away? because my knowledge of Linux is at the bottom, i am a spoiled Netware/Microsoft administrator and really taking baby steps here, not to be beaten by some guru who thinks zip of me.
I like the idea, but there are a few major flaws in the system. (no, not gonna tell, find out or do an install of W2008 server and see how it's done)
I must now try to install Kubuntu, or do i take Ubuntu? that's step 1
Any replies on this question? well, how do i install LMCE on that??? I DON'T KNOW! It's not a distro and all, and i can't keep asking Q's like those here because you really think i'm a fool, but a complete distro of LMCE in the next version might push me towards a retry. For now, i lack the energy and will to figure it out myself, my family needs me too.
Sorry, i'll keep an eye on the next suitable RC. Hope this comes fast, because I LIKE IT !
Anne something.

maverick0815

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 545
    • View Profile
Re: Trying and trying to make this work on Linux first time
« Reply #22 on: March 20, 2011, 01:43:16 pm »
The answer to your question is really simple : download the latest snapshot, burn the iso to a dvd, pop it in the drive of your would-be core and boot from it. In the boot menue select "Install LinuxMCE" ! More or less, its really simple as that, even a Microsoft Administrator as spoiled as you can do that....and before you get your hackles up, I am a Microsoft Administrator too.
But guess what, part of the reason, why this thread is becoming so "unfriendly" is simply because you come here with an attitude. Do you think the people here are just a bunch of lowlives, who just discovered what bits and bytes are? So, you're an IT-Pro and of course You know how it goes...so what. People here come from all sorts of businesses and in their lines, they are all Professionals too. What did you hope to accomplish, by making such a point? Everyone will just say:"Oh Gosh, I forgot...the force is strong in this one."

From the get go, people tried to help you...and yes then came Thom...but basically he is right.
By the way comparing Windows2008 to linuxmce is just as valid as comparing a kitchenknife to a swissarmy knife.

l3mce

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1081
    • View Profile
Re: Trying and trying to make this work on Linux first time
« Reply #23 on: March 20, 2011, 02:06:06 pm »
So if we build the system that you do not understand enough to install, the way you think it should be built, you will dane to try it for us?


Is that basically what you are offering?

I for one think we should consider it guys. It is a decent offer. It's only four million lines of code.


We should consider it is all I'm saying.
« Last Edit: March 20, 2011, 02:15:45 pm by l3mce »
I never quit... I just ping out.

bongowongo

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 826
    • View Profile
Re: Trying and trying to make this work on Linux first time
« Reply #24 on: March 20, 2011, 02:57:33 pm »
All this nonsensical fighting, we all know I have the biggest bongo, so anne know your place, drink a beer and laugh a little. Let me give you a tip. To get honey it is better to use a bear than your bongo to get the honey out of a bee-hyve. Do I make any sense? No, just like this topic.

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5501
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Trying and trying to make this work on Linux first time
« Reply #25 on: March 20, 2011, 02:59:07 pm »
I really hate being like this, but I've seen far too many people like this, come and go, and I've gotten to where I can read these people exceptionally quickly.

I could go on and on about the decisions that have gone into this system, and why they need to be this way RIGHT NOW...

...but it would fall on deaf ears, replaced by obstinant argument. Which is OKAY; however, keep in mind, that the system is this way, because we took the time to make it this way. Is it perfect, no? Am I against making it work another way? hell no, but I've still got shit to do on my plate.

ALL THE DEVS DO.

So if you want it a specific way, guess what? You're gonna have to dig down and MAKE IT HAPPEN THAT WAY.

Sit on that for a bit.

-Thom

MDH1966

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
    • View Profile
Re: Trying and trying to make this work on Linux first time
« Reply #26 on: March 20, 2011, 03:19:12 pm »
I usually don't chime in on these kinds of threads but I do enjoy reading them for the entertainment value.  But I feel compelled to add my $0.02.

I have built my LMCE network "inside" my Windows network.  I did this for two reasons, I sometimes use my computer for work and I need internet access to do that, and my wife really hates it when things don't "just work".  So, I left my network intact and built the LMCE as a test.  I had a few hurdles to overcome but I got it working.  LMCE is the DHCP for it's internal network.  It is only running one MD.  The only issue I have at this point is that my NAS is connected to my Windows network and not the LMCE internal network so LMCE doesn't see it. Actually, I do access it from the Kubuntu desktop.  I wanted to test the system for stability.  Once I got past the hurdles, of setting it up, it has been pretty stable.  I'm going to let it run for about a month or so and then I will put it is as my router for everything.  I may manually set the IP addresses on my Windows network (using 192.168.80.**) in the range that LMCE would put them anyway so if the LMCE box goes down for some reason, I can easily replace it with a Linksys router and not have to remap shared drives and print servers.  But that would be the only "hack".

So, to Anne, there may be some hurdles to overcome in the installtion process because of the particular hardware you are using. But this is a reliable enough system to run your entire network.  Set up a test system within your existing system and test, test, test.  Once you are convinced that it will do what you want to do, then let it do it's job.  I did it and I'm not a computer professional nor am I a Linux expert.
« Last Edit: March 20, 2011, 03:21:09 pm by MDH1966 »