Author Topic: 0810 Snapshot 23645 Install Experience  (Read 4347 times)

Marper

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 183
    • View Profile
0810 Snapshot 23645 Install Experience
« on: January 24, 2011, 01:36:02 am »
Great job LMCE Dev Team.

Core - Installed as described in the wiki.  Ran apt-get update and sudo apt-get dist-upgrade, without changing sources list.  (all ran good, with a couple of 404 error, but nothing serious).

Ran the LMCE ICON - took about 3 hours to finish, but eventually did.  Rebooted the system, got AVwizard and setup finished.  Had to configure DHCP IP Range was the only change I made.

Ran the diskless MD script, libdvdcss on Core to enable cd/dvd play - no problems

MD1 configured nicely - ran libdvdcss, upgraded HULU in KDE.  (dvi=720p, sound = spdif)  this system is working like a charm.  Had to ensure that I selected the correct resolution, where in 0710 it was already set to 60hz, in 0810 if you don't have a local monitor attached, you'll need to arrow over and down arrow once to ensure the setting.

MD2 configured nicely - where this system is a s-vidoe configuration, it's always been difficult to setup, was a breeze.

All-in-All a great piece of work and I wanted to share my appreciation to those that have worked their butts off to get it to this point.

Beeker

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 267
    • View Profile
Re: 0810 Snapshot 23645 Install Experience
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2011, 02:26:29 am »
Glad it all worked.........just wondering if you have a RAID array?

Had the same issue with 23618 in regards to the DHCP so apart from that everything has worked apart from my post in regards to mdadm and seeing my existing RAID array so I am waiting to see if there is a fix before downloading 23645 as I am on a tight plan from my ISP and can afford to download another 3.5gb only to find out it still has the same issue

Beeker

Marper

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 183
    • View Profile
Re: 0810 Snapshot 23645 Install Experience
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2011, 02:51:34 am »
I have a freenas server with RAID 5.  Had no problem recognizing it once I got DHCP configured.

Beeker

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 267
    • View Profile
Re: 0810 Snapshot 23645 Install Experience
« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2011, 02:54:36 am »
Thanks I wonder if the same applies to the MCE software raid.......limited knowledge here so I guess you didn't need to install mdadm as FreeNAS is network based?

Slap me if I am being an idiot here just to much data to lose

Marper

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 183
    • View Profile
Re: 0810 Snapshot 23645 Install Experience
« Reply #4 on: January 24, 2011, 03:15:51 am »
Freenas was dirt cheap to setup and I got a lot of disk space.  Went to a pc swapmeet and purchased an old Rack Mount case $20.00, there was a booth that was selling 500gb sata hdd for $15 ea, purchased 24 of them.  bought a cheap Mobo for $20, video card and NIC for $10 and BAM!!!  I had a nas server.  Put Freenas on a USB stick which it boots to and I'm running.  Looking for another RACK mount case to build another storage unit.

Beeker

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 267
    • View Profile
Re: 0810 Snapshot 23645 Install Experience
« Reply #5 on: January 24, 2011, 03:23:16 am »
My problem is my exsisting 4Tb RAID I do not want to lose all the data but I thinking of building a newer larger array with I might do in FreeNAS as it seems popular. Do you have any thoughts why MCE is not seeing the existing RAID?
 

Marper

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 183
    • View Profile
Re: 0810 Snapshot 23645 Install Experience
« Reply #6 on: January 24, 2011, 03:42:46 am »
I've never built RAID in LMCE and don't know much about it.  You should get on the IRC chat channel for some assistance.  You can get alot of help there. #linuxmce,  freenode.net I think.

tsoukas

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Re: 0810 Snapshot 23645 Install Experience
« Reply #7 on: January 24, 2011, 01:43:27 pm »
Hello,
My array was not detected as well, so I forced the system to scan/attach it.
To do that, insert the two lines you see in bold inside /etc/rc.local

# rc.local
#
# This script is executed at the end of each multiuser runlevel.
# Make sure that the script will "exit 0" on success or any other
# value on error.
#
# In order to enable or disable this script just change the execution
# , bits.
#
# By default this script does nothing.

modprobe md-mod
mdadm --assemble --scan

exit 0

Sometimes though, array is attached TWICE.. If I remove the above command, though, it never get attached...

This is a df dump of my storage devices

Filesystem           1K-blocks      Used Available Use% Mounted on
rootfs                73742752  15411968  54584832  23% /
udev                    906276      2816    903460   1% /dev /dev/disk/by-uuid/63c37aeb-6253-46e7-a5a0-ca2745404700
                      73742752  15411968  54584832  23% / /dev/disk/by-uuid/63c37aeb-6253-46e7-a5a0-ca2745404700
                      73742752  15411968  54584832  23% /dev/.static/dev
tmpfs                   906276         0    906276   0% /lib/init/rw
varrun                  906276       376    905900   1% /var/run
varlock                 906276         0    906276   0% /var/lock
tmpfs                   906276      2204    904072   1% /lib/modules/2.6.27-17-generic/volatile
tmpfs                   906276         0    906276   0% /dev/shm
/dev/md1             1442147708 898198224 470692560  66% /mnt/device/59
/dev/md1             1442147708 898198224 470692560  66% /mnt/device/45

Till I finish watching the movies I have inside, I am not going to touch any of the two devices...

Hope it works for you,
ted

Beeker

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 267
    • View Profile
Re: 0810 Snapshot 23645 Install Experience
« Reply #8 on: January 24, 2011, 02:46:21 pm »
Thanks Ted
Will give it a go...............would like to check my listing how do you do the df dump

Regards
Beeker

l3mce

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1081
    • View Profile
Re: 0810 Snapshot 23645 Install Experience
« Reply #9 on: January 24, 2011, 02:53:48 pm »
Hi all. Been a while.
23621-23645 have the following issues in common in my experience on 0810 (Asus m3n78-ev core/hybrid)
I have left sources be, changed sources before LMCE install scripts, and after, results are always the same.

1. Second NIC setup fails. Must assign DHCP, IP, and ranges through web admin.
2. Gyration 6 button (GC1501) mouse buttons no longer bring up f6 f7 f8 functions. Middle button brings up "adjust time stretch" in Myth.
3. Remotes break a lot. LIRC, and a mini-dinovo specifically. 5 or 6 clicks too quickly and it is done. These do not return without full reboot (ie changing ports, removing and replacing in admin, regen/reload do nothing).
4. Media Buttons on anything but LIRC are mostly non functioning, where they used to.
5. Audio changed source now to Front instead of PCM. Still grabs PCM sometimes when adjusting volume. Seems random.

I couldn't get through the mceinstall.sh on 10.04. Will try on a toy box more tomorrow.
I never quit... I just ping out.

Beeker

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 267
    • View Profile
Re: 0810 Snapshot 23645 Install Experience
« Reply #10 on: January 24, 2011, 02:57:12 pm »
Now I am confused should I wait for a new snapshot or go back to an earlier one

l3mce

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1081
    • View Profile
Re: 0810 Snapshot 23645 Install Experience
« Reply #11 on: January 24, 2011, 03:08:50 pm »
I am dlding the latest snap now over my rusty internet connection, so that will be about 12 hours. Was going to do another fresh install tonight. After I do that, if I have the same results I will go back to snap... ugh... somewhere in November or December... not finding right this second. That one was fine until one day a week ago the NIS lost it's mind. I chased it around for a while to no avail, and started grabbing snaps.
I never quit... I just ping out.

Beeker

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 267
    • View Profile
Re: 0810 Snapshot 23645 Install Experience
« Reply #12 on: January 24, 2011, 03:14:00 pm »
Thanks...........same here in regards to downloading snapshots easy to blow you d/l limit out the window, it's really frustrating here in Australia as our Internet is so crappy in most areas compared to the rest of the world

Hope it works for you be interested to know how it goes

Marper

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 183
    • View Profile
Re: 0810 Snapshot 23645 Install Experience
« Reply #13 on: January 24, 2011, 07:46:37 pm »
l3mce - I also have that Lenovo and went back to my MD and tested.  You are correct media buttons do not work, had to attach a separate keyboard to get functions for menu. 

l3mce

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1081
    • View Profile
Re: 0810 Snapshot 23645 Install Experience
« Reply #14 on: January 25, 2011, 02:29:22 am »
I got impatient.

i will  tell you what doesn't work,

A good image from Aug which had been running perfect since then, with the following procedure...
Install kubuntu
At KDE  edit sources.list. update, reboot
Edit sources again (either i missed a lot or it changed. i want to say changed.) dist-upgrade reboot. * I missed a lot it seems now.
Install LMCE
On reboot fails mysql (I think) and cycles reboot.

Trying fresh install, no update/upgrade... changing sorces running LMCE script after post.

Entirely possible I hosed the thing on update with missing sources. Prolly should have run again or fix-missing.
« Last Edit: January 25, 2011, 03:06:50 am by l3mce »
I never quit... I just ping out.