Author Topic: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?  (Read 28050 times)

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4508
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #30 on: July 16, 2010, 10:07:34 am »
Hi Andrew,
After another test of my iPhone the same thing is happening to me it's giving the effect of a touch screen that needs calibration, you one key and you get a different action

Bruce

There is an update available that should fix this problem - update your system and then re-test your Web Orbiter.

All the best


Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Smart Home consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

Beeker

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 267
    • View Profile
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #31 on: July 16, 2010, 10:46:26 am »
Hi Andrew,
Thanks for the tip I have done an upgrade & update and tested it but unfortunately nothing changed so I am guessing we might have to do a reboot or regen........could you please advise.

Thanks and regards,
Bruce

coley

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 481
    • View Profile
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #32 on: July 16, 2010, 01:51:07 pm »
Are there icons available for the Weborbiter 2.0?

I grabbed the icon from the Windows orbiter src, popped in the weborbiter dir and updated weborbiter.html to use it.
Viola it appears on the tab of the browser or in my case the corner of the chrome shortcut.

Are there larger dimension ico files available? as the shortcut on the desktop doesn't use the 16x16 one, or scales it very badly.

thx
-Coley.

rndinokc

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 87
    • View Profile
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #33 on: July 17, 2010, 01:36:16 am »
Got weborbiter 2.0 working on the IPAD but with the following problems.  It seems that you have to scroll down to access the lower row of buttons and when you do they dont seem to work.  I used to 1024x768 resolution but it seems too large for the screen.  I guess the next thing would be to decrease the height some.  Any ideas?
Randy

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4508
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #34 on: July 17, 2010, 11:26:48 am »
Got weborbiter 2.0 working on the IPAD but with the following problems.  It seems that you have to scroll down to access the lower row of buttons and when you do they dont seem to work.  I used to 1024x768 resolution but it seems too large for the screen.  I guess the next thing would be to decrease the height some.  Any ideas?
Randy

Are you referring to the 'Home, Back, Refresh, Exit, Logout' buttons along the bottom edge of the Orbiter screen?

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Smart Home consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4508
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #35 on: July 17, 2010, 11:29:05 am »
Are there icons available for the Weborbiter 2.0?

I grabbed the icon from the Windows orbiter src, popped in the weborbiter dir and updated weborbiter.html to use it.
Viola it appears on the tab of the browser or in my case the corner of the chrome shortcut.

Are there larger dimension ico files available? as the shortcut on the desktop doesn't use the 16x16 one, or scales it very badly.

thx
-Coley.

Thats a good point...why dont you look at making some larger ico files?

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Smart Home consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

coley

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 481
    • View Profile
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #36 on: July 17, 2010, 12:15:37 pm »
Are there icons available for the Weborbiter 2.0?

I grabbed the icon from the Windows orbiter src, popped in the weborbiter dir and updated weborbiter.html to use it.
Viola it appears on the tab of the browser or in my case the corner of the chrome shortcut.

Are there larger dimension ico files available? as the shortcut on the desktop doesn't use the 16x16 one, or scales it very badly.

thx
-Coley.

Thats a good point...why dont you look at making some larger ico files?

Andrew
will check into that. Just wanted to see if any existed first.

-Coley.

RayBe

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 291
    • View Profile
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #37 on: July 17, 2010, 12:59:37 pm »
hi Andrew,

got the web orbiter 2.0 running on my MacBook 13" and i am loving it, really responsive!
how do i get it to run fullscreen, got the resolution at 1280x800?

thanks a lot,
Raymond
When you were born, you were crying and everybody else was laughing.
Live your life so when you die, you are laughing and everybody else is crying.

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4508
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #38 on: July 17, 2010, 01:44:11 pm »
hi Andrew,

got the web orbiter 2.0 running on my MacBook 13" and i am loving it, really responsive!
how do i get it to run fullscreen, got the resolution at 1280x800?

thanks a lot,
Raymond

You need to do two things - choose a resolution in Web Admin's Wizard-Orbiters page for your Web Orbiter that is close to or exactly matches (best option) your display resolution & do a regen. Then you need to set your browser up to run full screen ie hide the menu bar and other screen controls etc. I believe the short cut for toogling full screen on off in desktop Safari is apple + Enter.

I typically run my Web Orbiters in Chrome and all I do is hit F11 and that will hide/un-hide all of the UI apart from the page itself...so as long as you have set a resolution for your Orbiter that fills your screen your in business.

All the best


Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Smart Home consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

Techstyle

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 674
    • View Profile
    • Techstyle UK Ltd.
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #39 on: July 17, 2010, 06:56:44 pm »
Andrew,

I have it working on a Dell Latitude D620 with both Windows XP and Ubuntu 9.10 netbook edition.

One comment/comparison to the Windows dedicated orbiter is that when you are on the computing remote the laptop Keyboard can be used with the dedicated Win orbiter but not with the Web orbiter 2.0.  with the web orbiter 2.0 you have to use the onscreen keyboard.  Just an observation.  apart from that it works fine.  Thanks

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4508
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #40 on: July 17, 2010, 07:03:32 pm »
Andrew,

I have it working on a Dell Latitude D620 with both Windows XP and Ubuntu 9.10 netbook edition.

One comment/comparison to the Windows dedicated orbiter is that when you are on the computing remote the laptop Keyboard can be used with the dedicated Win orbiter but not with the Web orbiter 2.0.  with the web orbiter 2.0 you have to use the onscreen keyboard.  Just an observation.  apart from that it works fine.  Thanks

Thanks for that feed back. Which browsers are you using?

We're aware of the limitation of not being able to use the physical keyboard with Web Orbiter. We will have a fix for that at some point...unless someone wants to fix it themselves that is...and beats us to it. After all its just Javascript programming skills that are needed to fix this ;-)

All the best


Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Smart Home consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3045
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #41 on: July 17, 2010, 08:41:11 pm »
The physical keyboard CAN be used with the Web Orbiter. The latest fixes are in svn, and in our repo since today (or yesterday depending on your TZ)

Techstyle

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 674
    • View Profile
    • Techstyle UK Ltd.
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #42 on: July 17, 2010, 09:27:29 pm »
I just did an update/upgrade and now Posde is correct the keyboard does work, although there are a few of comments:

1. Speed - general fast typing is OK but when there is a double letter there is an issue - type 'hello' and it appears as 'helol'.  at first I thought it was me but i tried it a few times and other words, issue = isues.  perhaps there is a time value associated with repeat commands or inputs?

2. Non-Letter/number keys - Backspace, Space, shift, caps lock, Tab do not seem to work from the physical keyboard

3. From the on-screen keyboard, if you hit shift you cannot get back to regular characters, every input will be upper case.  pressing shift again does not cancel it. 

4. Caps Lock on the on-screen keyboard doesn't work.

This was all done on a Dell Latitude D620 with Ubuntu 9.10 netbook edition using Firefox

I will continue testing within other areas but this morning I was using the computing screen, mostly.

Thanks


totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4508
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #43 on: July 17, 2010, 10:55:46 pm »
I just did an update/upgrade and now Posde is correct the keyboard does work, although there are a few of comments:

1. Speed - general fast typing is OK but when there is a double letter there is an issue - type 'hello' and it appears as 'helol'.  at first I thought it was me but i tried it a few times and other words, issue = isues.  perhaps there is a time value associated with repeat commands or inputs?

2. Non-Letter/number keys - Backspace, Space, shift, caps lock, Tab do not seem to work from the physical keyboard

3. From the on-screen keyboard, if you hit shift you cannot get back to regular characters, every input will be upper case.  pressing shift again does not cancel it. 

4. Caps Lock on the on-screen keyboard doesn't work.

This was all done on a Dell Latitude D620 with Ubuntu 9.10 netbook edition using Firefox

I will continue testing within other areas but this morning I was using the computing screen, mostly.

Thanks



Yep posde right its in the update. Its difficult to coordinate which version you have access to at a given time. But all the changes we make do flow through to the svn and the repos ... but their maybe a lag sometimes.

Thanks for the details above.

If yopu know Javascript dig in and fix those little limitations and post a fix ;-)

All the best


Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Smart Home consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

rndinokc

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 87
    • View Profile
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #44 on: July 18, 2010, 05:07:55 am »
I thought I would show what I mean.  The touch screen does not seem to sync with the buttons once the screen is scrolled.  Whatever button was at a location seems to stay at the same location on the touchscreen.  The mapping of the touchscreen remains constant even though new button are at the same coordinates.  The logoff, etc buttons seem to be fine.
Randy